The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows

guernsey lit

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows

Rating: ***

I see this is a popular book and has nearly 1000 5-star reviews on Amazon. I enjoyed reading this collection of letters, however, I would not place it in the 5-star category.

I knew nothing about the German occupation of the Channel Islands during World War II and I enjoyed learning about this. I think the descriptions of Guernsey are very nice and they make me want to visit and learn more about the island.

Something bothers me about the characters in this story. Some are light and silly. Some are serious and brooding. Some are quirky. And some are selfless and good. But they all seem one-dimensional. (Does it remind anyone else of the characters on Mayberry RFD?) Perhaps the point of the story is merely to have symbolic characters, not realistic ones. The seriousness of the war and the Holocaust, however, do not seem to mix well into this fluffiness.

The literary references are fun and they make me want to re-read Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. I even did a little research on Charles Lamb and the Brontë sisters and liked learning more about them.

So, just an okay read but I’m glad I read it, even if it’s simply to know what everyone is talking about.

Tell me what you're thinking!

