I’m looking for answers!

stack of books

What’s your favorite book?  Is it fiction?  Non-fiction?  A classic or something new?  Can you choose just one?

If you’re like me, maybe you put your faves in categories.  “Here’s my favorite classic.”  “Here’s my favorite childhood book.”  “Here’s my favorite contemporary book.”

But if you had to choose just one, what would you do?

I have my list of top ten, in no particular order.  That’s what I said when I posted this list last October 16:

  • Youngblood Hawke – Herman Wouk
  • A Farewell to Arms – Ernest Hemingway
  • Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
  • The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
  • The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  • Olive Kitteridge – Elizabeth Strout
  • The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand
  • The Giver – Lois Lowry
  • Out Stealing Horses – Per Petterson
  • A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

I did it that way because I thought I couldn’t choose.  But if I had to…

…I guess I’d choose Youngblood Hawke by Herman Wouk, which is, strangely, already at the top of my list!

Youngblood Hawke pic

How about you?  Can you choose and tell me your own favorite? If you can, what is it?  I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

Thanks for visiting!

10 thoughts on “I’m looking for answers!

  1. Such a hard question! So many favorites, but if you’re forcing me to choose just one, I would have to pick The Hours by Michael Cunningham. Have you read it? I will have to check out Youngblood Hawke one of these days!

  2. Ooooh, the Giver. . . I remember that one. . . So, GWTW was one of my favorites, and I’m with you on Farewell to ARms too (anything by Hem really…) but my all time, numero uno, favorite book is Jane Eyre. I read it every 3-4 years and always find something new in it. It is almost like a different story all together each time I read it. All. Time. Favorite. Jane Eyre. Love it. It’s perfect. Read on, BCM!!

    1. Thanks! I do like Jane Eyre. It’s definitely a classic. Kids here read it in ninth grade and I re-read it when one of my sons was reading it. He didn’t really like it but I don’t think it’s a guy book.

      Maybe I’ll read it again soon and do a review! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. My favorite book will always be Gone With the Wind, for sheer longlasting entertainment. It always has the power to take me away to another world. There’s another book I remember from childhood that captured me heart and soul, and that’s A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I still have my original copy. Another completely different book I’ve loved is Tennyson’s Idyll of the Kings which is all poetry but in narrative form. For some reason I memorized a lot of it when I read it in school, and different lines from it still pop up occasionally in my mind.

  4. By the way I also loved Youngblood Hawke — as well as The Caine Mutiny and dare I say, Marjorie Morningstar! These are all great, entertaining books.

Tell me what you're thinking!

