What’s in a word? Ask Charlotte Brontë!

Charlotte Bronte pic2
Charlotte Brontë uses the word “lineament” a lot!

I’m going to start looking out for these words in modern English because I like some of them, especially “ruth” and “riven.”  I think these would be good poetry words.  I also like the word “lineament” but I don’t know if I could ever use it with confidence.  Charlotte Brontë must have liked that word too because it appears thirteen times in Jane Eyre!

ruth:  n.  a feeling of pity, distress, or grief

deglutition:  n. the action or process of swallowing

cynosure:  n. a person or thing that is the center of attention or admiration

lineament:  n. a distinctive feature or characteristic, esp. of the face

riven:  v. split or tear apart violently

Thanks for visiting – review tomorrow!

Tell me what you're thinking!

