How to make “Dirt” for 30 hungry lacrosse players

I have to put book down my book for awhile because today I’m making “Dirt” for tonight’s lacrosse team dinner. If you’ve never heard of it, Dirt is a decadent mixture of crushed Oreo cookies, Cool Whip, vanilla pudding, butter, milk, cream cheese, and confectioners’ sugar. It’s a must-serve at team dinners in our area and, if you are a teenage boy, there is no guilt associated with scooping out a hefty bowl or two of this very rich dessert.

This is my fourth year making Dirt and I’ve made a lot of mistakes and big messes in my kitchen. I’ve started out using bowls that were way too small for the ingredients. I’ve used every size bowl, pot, spoon and utensil in my cabinets and drawers. I’ve spilled crushed cookies, jammed my blender and once I forgot to thaw the Cool Whip ahead of time.

But now I feel confident and worthy of sharing my customized recipe and kitchen secrets with the world. If you’re game, be ready to spend about 1 ½ hours in the kitchen!  Click on the pictures to enlarge.

Here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 ½ cups butter, softened
  • 3 8-ounce packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 6 3.4-ounce packages instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 10 ½ cups milk (That’s 84 ounces – and FYI there are 128 ounces in a gallon.)
  • 3 12-ounce containers frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 4 ½ – 5 lbs chocolate sandwich cookies with cream filling

(Note: I buy the generic of everything because it’s just as good in this recipe and much less expensive, especially when you’re making Dirt for a big group.)

dirt 02
Here’s what you need. You can save a lot if you buy the store brands!
dirt 04
If anyone has allergies, you should upgrade to regular Oreos, because the store brands may contain nuts or peanuts.
dirt 03
Two of these work great.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Chop cookies to a very fine texture in a food processor. The white cream will disappear and the result will resemble real dirt. I don’t have a food processor, so I crush about 10 cookies at a time between wax paper, then I put them in a blender. This is the most time-consuming part of the recipe. I usually do this the day before. It makes the whole process a lot easier. 
    dirt 05
    This part is kind of fun!
    dirt 06
    No more than ten cookies in my blender – I learned that the hard way!
    dirt 08
    If you use a blender, you’ll need to clean out the blades each time.

    dirt 07
    Here is what 5 pounds of crushed cookies looks like.
  2. Mix butter, cream cheese and sugar in a bowl.

    This gets a little messy, so be ready!
    This gets a little messy, so be ready!
  3. In a very large bowl, mix milk, pudding and whipped topping together.  Make sure you use the instant pudding because the regular kind won’t work.

    Use the biggest bowl you've got!
    Use the biggest bowl you’ve got!
  4. Combine pudding mixture and cream mixture together.

    Don't worry if it's a little lumpy.
    Don’t worry if it’s a little lumpy.
  5. Layer in aluminum pans, starting with cookies then cream mixture. Repeat layers.

    Make sure you reserve enough of the cookies for the final layer.
    Make sure you reserve enough of the cookies for the final layer.
  6. Chill until ready to serve. You can freeze this too.

    This serves 30 hungry teenagers - no leftovers!
    This serves 30 hungry teenagers – no leftovers!

Whew! I’m finished!  Hope you enjoyed this demonstration!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

5 thoughts on “How to make “Dirt” for 30 hungry lacrosse players

  1. This looks very good! Do you think I can substitute the frozen whipped topping with whipped cream? We don’t have anything like frozen whipped topping over here. Or do you substitute it with something else?

Tell me what you're thinking!

