Who’s reading The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer?

Finally got the book!
Finally got the book!

Two things happened to me when I decided to read The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer. I like to use the library when I can so I got right on the e-book wait list, to save me a trip during our long, cold winter. It’s a popular book, so the wait list was pretty long. I didn’t do the math to figure out when I’d get it. I just moved on to something else.

The first thing that happened to me was that one day I actually made it to the top of the e-book wait list! Success!  I tend to do things fast, so no surprise to myself, I downloaded it immediately. But I was busy reading something else and the two-week non-renewable loan ran out before I had the chance to even start it! Frustrating.

I had long forgotten that when I put myself on the e-book wait list, I had also requested the actual book at the library, and put myself on a separate, but equally-long list. The second thing that happened to me was that soon after my e-book loan expired, I got a notice telling me the actual book was waiting for me. Hurray! On a day that wasn’t snowy, I drove to the library, checked out the book and headed home with the best intentions.

I really wanted to read it, but once again the timing was bad! I returned the book when it was due, unread.

Today I went out and bought the book. It won’t disappear on my Kindle. I won’t be risking overdue fees. I can crack it open all the way if I want and if I spill something on it or drop it in the tub, that’s okay.

So here’s to actually owning a book every now and then, in its true physical form. And when someone asks, “Who’s reading The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer?” I can say, “I am!”

(And if any grammar experts can tell me the rule for quotes that end in a question – does a comma go in there too – and if so, inside or outside the quotes? – I’d love to hear from you!)

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

2 thoughts on “Who’s reading The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer?

  1. If a quotation ends in a question mark, you don’t include a comma, too:
    “Are you going?” she asked.
    Is that what you’re asking about?

Tell me what you're thinking!

