What’s available from the free e-book library? Billy Bathgate, by E.L. Doctorow

Billy Bathgate

I’m really happy that our local library has improved its way to search for e-books. Now I can sort in all kinds of ways, including finding books that are immediately ready to borrow! Sometimes I just want a book right away, don’t you?

So for my next read, I’m shifting from current popular fiction and picking up some older popular historical fiction, Billy Bathgate, by E. L. Doctorow. In 1990, Billy Bathgate won both the National Book Critics Circle award for fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction. It’s the story of Billy “Bathgate” Behan, a fifteen-year-old protégé of the real-life New York mobster, Dutch Schultz. Billy Bathgate was made into a film in 1991, with Loren Dean, Dustin Hoffman, Steven Hill, Nicole Kidman and Bruce Willis. The movie was directed by Robert Benton and the screenplay was written by Tom Stoppard.

I remember this movie, but I haven't seen it.  I have a free pass for a movie rental at the library so I think this will be my choice!
I remember this movie, but I haven’t seen it. I have a free pass for a movie rental at the library so I think this will be my choice!

 

E. L. Doctorow
E. L. Doctorow

E. L. Doctorow is an award-winning American author of fiction, short stories, plays and essays. Some of his other novels include Welcome to Hard Times, Ragtime, Loon Lake, City of God, The March, and his newest novel, Andrew’s Brain.  You can check out Doctorow’s website at:

http://www.eldoctorow.com/index.html

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

Tell me what you're thinking!

