What’s up next? Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith

Child 44

I just started reading Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith. It’s a crime thriller that takes place in Joseph Stalin’s Soviet Union and it’s the first book of his trilogy. Smith based Child 44 on the crimes of Andrei Chikatilo, who was convicted of fifty-two murders of women and children in the Soviet Union and was executed in 1994. The story features a disgraced MGB agent, Leo Demidov, who is investigating a series of child murders. The second and third books are The Secret Speech and Agent 6.

Tom Rob Smith www.curtisbrown.co.uk
Tom Rob Smith http://www.curtisbrown.co.uk

Tom Rob Smith is an English writer and Child 44 is his first book. In addition to numerous awards and nominations, Child 44 received the Crime Writers Association’s Ian Fleming Steel Dagger award in 2008 for the best thriller of the year. Smith’s fourth book, The Farm, was published in 2014.

Child 44 has been made into a movie, due to be released in April 2015. It’s directed by Daniel Espinosa and its screenplay was written by Richard Price. The movie stars Tom Hardy, Gary Oldman and Naomi Rapace.

I don’t usually read thrillers, but I’m trying to break out into new genres. Once I get started on a trilogy, I have to keep going. If I can handle Child 44, I’ll read the next two!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!


Tell me what you're thinking!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s