There’s some tough vocab in Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

Lord of the Flies

I just started re-reading Lord of the Flies, by William Golding. One of my kids is reading it for school this marking period (I am a Book Club Mom, you know!) and I thought I’d follow along. This is my second time reading it. After reading the first three chapters and trying to absorb the vocabulary, I’m not sure that way back when, as a silly teenage girl, I would have had any idea what half the words meant! But I don’t remember feeling that way and I think I enjoyed the book. I’m certainly enjoying it this time.

Here’s an example of Golding’s wonderful descriptions which include imagery, sentence structure and words that were surely way over my head in high school:

“Sleep enveloped him like the swathing mirages that were wrestling with the brilliance of the lagoon.”

“The noise of the errant assembly faded up the mountain.”

“Jack stood there, streaming with sweat, streaked with brown earth, stained by all the vicissitudes of a day’s hunting.”

Reading Lord of the Flies again is a great reminder that the classics we read long ago are certainly worth another look!  Has anyone else had this experience?  What classics have you re-read and enjoyed more the second time?

Thanks for visiting.  Check back soon for my review of Lord of the Flies!

Tell me what you're thinking!

