What’s up next? The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner

The Sound and the Fury

Before I crack open the 2014 books on my list, I’m going to jump back to a classic – The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner. I loved this book when I read it in college, and it’s my pick this month for my local book club.

The Sound and the Fury was first published in 1929 and is considered one of the greatest novels of the twentieth century.

William Faulkner
William Faulkner

William Faulkner (1897-1962) was an American writer from Oxford, Mississippi. He placed many of his short stories and novels in the fictional Yoknapatwpha County, based on his own experiences in Lafayette and Holly Springs/Marshall Counties. In 1949, Faulkner received the Nobel Prize for Literature and received the Pulitzer Prize twice (1955 and 1963), for his novels A Fable and The Reivers. In addition to these works, Faulkner is best known for his novels The Sound and the Fury, As I Lay Dying, Light in August, and Absalom, Absalom! Faulkner also wrote poetry, essays, screenplays and two stage plays.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

2 thoughts on “What’s up next? The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner

    1. I’m always interested in seeing what other things authors do. I think it would be hard to branch out like that, but the great ones must be so creative they need other outlets. Thanks for visiting!

Tell me what you're thinking!

