What’s up next? Six different things!

I don’t usually know what I’m going to read this far in advance. I often just pick things up on a whim, but February is going to be a little different. I’m excited to have a bunch of things lined up, but because I’m not a multitasker with reading, it’s got to be one thing at a time. So here’s what’s up, in the following order:

let me be frank with you

  • Let Me Be Frank With You, by Richard Ford. I was waiting for this e-book from the library for a long time, so I downloaded it right away when it became available. The only tricky thing about library e-books when there’s a waitlist is that you only get them for two weeks and you can’t renew. So I’m reading this first. I was attracted to its cover which shows what was left of the Seaside Heights, NJ roller coaster after Hurricane Sandy. Being a Jersey girl, I’ve spent a great many summers down the shore (that’s the Jersey way to say the shore). I haven’t read anything else by Richard Ford, and this book is the fourth of Ford’s popular Frank Bascombe fiction series. But I’m catching on pretty easily to this kind of cranky character!

Spit Hovering

  • Spirit Hovering, by Nancy Arbuthnot. In this collection of poetic meditations, Nancy Arbuthnot gives spiritual reflection to everyday moments. Arbuthnot is a writer, editor and Professor Emerita at the United States Naval Academy. One of her most recent publications is Deep Blue, a book of poems about growing up in a Navy family. I’m also looking forward to interviewing Nancy after I read Spirit Hovering.

page-0_2_crop

  • Death in a Dacron Sail, by N. A. Granger. This is the second book in the Rhe Brewster Mystery Series. You may remember my review of Death in a Red Canvas Chair, which was also written by my blogging friend, Noelle Granger. Check out her WordPress blog, SaylingAway.

the man who couldn't stop

  • The Man Who Couldn’t Stop, by David Adam. This is one of the nonfiction books I’ve wanted to read. David Adam has suffered from Obsessive Compulsive Disorder for twenty years and this book is his attempt to understand this condition. I also got this one at the library after being on the waitlist a long time and a lot of people are waiting for the book after me, so I won’t be able to renew!

A Sudden Light

  • A Sudden Light, by Garth Stein. This is my local book club’s selection for February. I loved The Art of Racing in the Rain, so I’m excited about reading this. I have a few weeks before we meet, so I think I’m in good shape.

Macbeth

  • Macbeth, by William Shakespeare. I just read Julius Caesar because one of my kids was reading it for school. Now another one of my kids is reading Macbeth for English class, so if I have time, I’m going to check it out. I think it’s fun to read what the kids are reading. It makes me feel like a student again.

Now all we need is a big snowstorm and a break from all our responsibilities!  It could happen…

What are you reading this month?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

3 thoughts on “What’s up next? Six different things!

  1. I’d be really interested i reading The Man Who Couldn’t Stop, it sounds intriguing. I have The Lay of the Land and Independence Day in the 746, which would you recommend starting with? My February reading is pretty mapped out too as I plan for my Reading Ireland Month in March!

  2. Finishing your suggestion, The Light Between Oceans.

    A little over half way through and I’m not feeling good about this at all. There is a wonderful rhythm to Tom, but Isabel makes me so sad. I can’t imagine this ends well. A fantastic story so far. I love the setting and the language. Thank you so much for recommendation.

    After what I’m sure will be a good cry, I have Wolf Hall up next.

    A Sudden Light looks great too.

    Looking forward to your February reviews.

    1. I really liked this book, the setting, characters and story. I was satisfied with the ending. Endings are so hard to write. I’d love to hear what you think when you finish! Thanks for commenting!

Tell me what you're thinking!

