Blog views & other obsessions – The Social Media Abyss

brainsonfire.com
brainsonfire.com

The Social Media Abyss

I’ve been working hard this year, trying to get my blog noticed by more readers. I recently discovered the powerful connections between WordPress, Twitter and Facebook. Now I’m stumbling through, learning how to work that big machine. I was one of those naïve bloggers, a year and a half ago, thinking I just had to post something and people would find me. Then I discovered the great experience of following other blogs and jumping into a community of commenters and likers. That has been very rewarding and it has given me confidence. And now I’m standing on the edge of the social media abyss, thinking, “Wow, but how?”

What about you? Are you a new blogger and are you trying to figure things out? Or are you a long-time blogger? Maybe you are somewhere in the middle like me. Have you connected your WordPress blog to other social media?

So, let’s start a conversation! Let’s trade blogging ideas and social networking tips. Here are just a few questions to get this rolling:

  • What’s your blogging routine? Every day? Once a week or somewhere in the middle?
  • What’s your favorite part of blogging, getting your opinion out there, receiving comments and likes, reaching out to other bloggers?
  • How do you connect with people who aren’t on WordPress?
  • Are you making money with your blog?
  • Do you want to make money with your blog?
  • Do you check your stats a lot? Are you disappointed when your views go down?
  • How do you find people to “Like” your Facebook page?
  • What’s your Twitter strategy? How much time do you spend following and tweeting? Do you retweet and favorite a lot? What about direct messages?
  • Are you out there on Tumblr? What about Google+?
  • And last, how do you manage your time? (Because we all know this takes TIME!)

I think we could have a great dialogue here. So leave a comment and let’s get this rolling!

DSCN5465

Thanks for visiting!

12 thoughts on “Blog views & other obsessions – The Social Media Abyss

  1. Many of those questions are my questions too. I’ll be checking back…looking for answers:o) I find I only really make time to blog (not big on facebook or any thing else), but I’m interested to read everyone’s comments. Great post. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for following me on Twitter 🙂 I’ve only been blogging for just over 12 months and it’s been like a runaway train! I’m really enjoying the ride. It does help a lot connecting your blog to Twitter, Facebook ect. I think my favourite part is sharing my love of books with other like-minded people – authors, readers and other bloggers. I don’t really have a set routine, I’m just online as and when and I post whenever I have something ready to go but it’s usually 3/4 times per week.

    1. These are great comments, Cathy! I have to remind myself that this is a hobby. We all have lives and responsibilities. But my dream would be to have a blog with a big following and that would point me towards a related job.

  3. First, great picture and fantastic blazer. Okay, now that the important stuff is out of the way. 🙂 Social media…Yikes.

    I blog when something hits me and I try not to go more than 4 days without a post.

    My favorite part about blogging is emptying my mind. I usually blog in a vacuum. I’m not looking for a response, but it is so nice to hear from people that can relate. I do take acknowledging comments pretty seriously. I think if people take the time to not only read, but comment, it’s important that I respond. I can get behind a couple of days, but I try to catch up.

    I have my posts go to FB and then Twitter. I also post them to my author page on Goodreads and Amazon. That’s really all I do. I see people posting questions on FB or discussions on Goodreads. I supposed I could engage that way, but I’m socially challenged.

    Am I making money with my blog? Hahahahahahahaha.
    I don’t think I would want to make money with my blog. Too much pressure and I don’t provide a service like your blog.

    My favorite part of stats is seeing all of the different countries.

    I don’t actively campaign for “Likes” on FB. I’m sure I could advertise or create more exposure, but I don’t.

    My Twitter strategy is to continue trying to figure out how it works. I’m thinking I need a Twitter class or a workshop. I can find my way through most social media, but I have no clue when it comes to hashtags, etc. I have figured out retweeting. So I can share things others post.

    I think I have a Google+ profile, but I don’t actively use it. I pin things from other people’s Tumblr onto Pinterest, but I don’t have one of my own. I would love to know what makes Tumblr different from Pinterest.

    I limit my social media time to no more than 20 min a day. I check things, respond to comments and post anything I rind interesting in that time. I always write blog posts in the moment and post immediately. I don’t have posts lined up or scheduled. That would be wonderful, but I can’t seem to work that way.

    Great post, Barb. It is an abyss out there. I will check back.

  4. I’ve been up and down with how much time I spend on my blog and on social media. At first, I did feel like I needed to post every day, but I definitely don’t any more. I have a few weekly features that I like to make sure to post each week, and beyond that it’s just book reviews and random pieces as the mood strikes me.:)

    I find the most rewarding part of blogging the discussions generated by commenting on other blogs and answering the comments left on mine. I had no idea about any of this when I started, so it’s been an amazing adventure with a big learning curve!

    I really don’t pay too much attention to social media. I enjoy using Goodreads and usually link up my reviews there. I use Facebook and Twitter as well, but I’m really not very active either place. There just isn’t time!

    The whole stats thing made me really anxious at the beginning, but I’ve calmed down by now! I check at least once a day to see the overall trend, but I try not to let it affect me too much one way or the other. I just find it really interesting to see which posts get hits. It’s often surprising!

    Anyway, you ask some really good questions! It’ll be interesting to see the different opinions you get back.

    PS – Make money? No… I can’t even imagine! 🙂

    1. Hi Lisa, thanks for checking in and leaving comments. I agree with you, there is not enough time to do it all – so it’s important to have perspective. I also think the commenting aspect is one of the best parts of blogging, something I was not thinking of either when I started. I don’t blog every day either. I try to put something up a few days a week, but I’ve learned to not worry about it, especially when I’m reading something long! Thanks again for commenting!

  5. I’m afraid I have a small but fairly stoical following which seems to stay with me no matter how I assault their senses. I don’t know how I regard my own blog – dare I coin the word ‘incidental’? Because the enjoyment of blogging for me is in finding a window to the huge variety and color created by people at different places on the world stage; geographically and philosophically, demographically and politically. Reading other people’s blogs – that’s my motive for blogging. I’m far too dysfunctional to have strategies, and so utterly disorganized that time management is one of those devoutly to be wished consummations that stands like a star over the summit of my aspirational mountain, as unattainable as Alpha Centauri even on a good day.

  6. Hi Frederick, you seem to have a good attitude about blogging! I think it’s important to keep a balance, even though I sometimes get a little intense about views. Then I step back a little, live my life and feel refreshed! Thanks for commenting.

  7. Hi Barb! Good questions, and even better answers! What grounded, insightful readers you have — and for a fairly young blog, too. That alone is a great feather in your cap.

    Like you, I once hoped doing what I love would blossom into some sort of paying job eventually. And I still think it will, for both of us. However, my approach is to just ignore the “business” end of blogging and simply write when the spirit moves me while juggling the rest of my life. I have faith that the right people will find us somehow, sooner or later. WARNING: This approach and five bucks will get you a cup of coffee at Starbucks. But on the plus side, it’s pretty low stress.

    1. You are so right. I am having tons of fun, but I know I sometimes approach the limit and feel stressed about it. Then I step back and get a grip. Your blog is beautifully designed, btw. Thanks for commenting!

Tell me what you're thinking!

