Blog views & other obsessions – integrating social media

brainsonfire.com
brainsonfire.com

Integrating Social Media

Last month, I ran a post about how to expand my blog’s exposure by branching out into other areas of social media. After nearly two years of blogging and totally enjoying the experience of meeting other bloggers and trading likes and comments, I started to think about the bigger and connected world of blogging and promoting myself.

I’ve learned a lot in the last month. I’m in no way an expert. It’s just the tip of the iceberg. But here’s what I’ve discovered:

TWITTER

  • Twitter is very powerful, but it has taken some getting used to. To me, my Twitter feed seems like a raging river of Tweeters and they’re all saying, “Look at me!” It’s hard to believe anyone would notice if I Tweeted the same kind of thing, but I’ve learned from my live-in social media experts. They tell me to just get in there and interact. Here’s their advice: Favorite things you like. Retweet things. Actively seek out followers. When you have a short lull in your schedule, scroll through and see what might be relevant to your blog and Retweet or Favorite. I have to be in the mood to do this, though because sometimes it’s overwhelming.
  • Follow, follow, follow and you will get follow-backs. A good way to find Twitter followers is to see who follows a popular account that’s related to your own interests and follow the ones that make sense.
  • Don’t be afraid to message someone if it’s relevant. I’ve had people message me on Twitter and tell me they like my jacket!
  • Add a Follow me on Twitter button to your WordPress site.
  • Use the WordPress app to find your Twitter friends who have WordPress blogs. Follow those blogs to make new friends.
  • Always share your posts on Twitter when you write them, but don’t stop there. Share older posts too. Just because you wrote something six months ago doesn’t mean it’s old.
  • Include a link to your blog in your profile.

FACEBOOK

  • I created a Facebook page for my blog. It’s connected to my personal FB page, but the followers are separate. I used to post my blog on my personal FB page, but I always felt a little weird about it, barraging my friends with all my book review opinions, whether they liked it or not! Once I created the Book Club Mom FB page, I invited all my friends to “Like” my page. A good number did and now I feel better that my posts are reaching the people who really want to see them.
  • I found out it’s very hard to get other people to “Like” your Facebook page. So use the WordPress Widgets feature to include a “Like me on Facebook” button. Just like all social media though, lots of people will follow you if you follow them.
  • I’ve also noticed that when I follow someone on Twitter, they often send me a message suggesting I check out their FB page. And they include a link. Smart. A good way to get follow-backs.
  • Whenever I read the blogs I follow on WordPress, I check to see if they have a FB account, and I Like it when they do, hoping they will Like me back. (Do the same if they have a Twitter account.)
  • Once you follow a group on FB, “Like” and “Share” what’s interesting and relevant with the people who follow you. Lots of people will return the favor.
  • Link your FB page to your Twitter account so that anytime you update your status, you’re also sending out a Tweet.
  • And always share your WordPress blog with your FB page!

GOODREADS

  • I started my Goodreads account about a year and a half ago, but all I really did with it was post my reviews. I recently started adding friends to my network. A great way to do this is to use the Twitter app through Goodreads to find friends who are your followers on Twitter. I made the mistake of inviting all my Twitter followers to be my Goodreads friends at the same time and my computer froze. Then I didn’t know if the requests went through or not, so I got caught up in trying to resend a block of requests at a time. Time consuming and tedious, though. I have to be in the mood to do it.
  • Goodreads has all kinds of groups you can join. In the beginning, I joined a couple book clubs, but I was too busy to even follow them and I got too many emails. So I dropped out of them for a while to keep things simple. I recently joined a couple new groups, for creative writing feedback. I’ll have to see how that goes.

WORDPRESS

I feel a little protective about my WordPress network. Do you? I feel like this is my golden group of my good blogging friends! For that reason, I don’t use the follow and like approach on WordPress in the same way. WordPress blogging and commenting is my way of interacting on a more personal and meaningful level. The other social media I’ve chosen is a lot less personal and that stuff is like a big marketing game.

As I’ve said above, I am learning as I go, and I have to be in the right mood to build these accounts. It’s basically a numbers game and it can really suck you in and eat up a lot of time. I’m very mindful of that. We all have responsibilities and lives outside of this world, so perspective is key.

What do you think? Are you trying to expand your network? What’s your strategy? What mistakes have you made? What other social media have you used? Have you ever gotten a little obsessed with the process?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

15 thoughts on “Blog views & other obsessions – integrating social media

  1. I just started my blog within the last few months so I’m still trying to figure it all out. I am mainly using Twitter to repost, send updates, etc. Then I use Facebook and other groups to refer people back to the blog. I haven’t linked to Facebook from my wordpress site yet.

    Interesting post

    1. Thanks! I don’t claim to know what I’m doing but I get the feeling that there are a lot of people in my situation. It’s learn as you go, right? Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. I should also add, that your twitter account helped me realize that for some reason I was no longer following you here (because I followed your twitter link to this post and realized that I hadn’t gotten the email). I had to re-follow. Not sure why this keeps happening but for some reason I click follow but then several days later it looks like I’m no longer following that particular person on wordpress. So you having a twitter account sent me back here 🙂

  3. Great insights! I find that a lot of this stuff is “learn by doing” material. I automatically share all blog posts via Facebook and Twitter, but barely use Facebook beyond that. With Twitter, I’m not terribly active, but I do try to tweet at least a few times a week beyond just links to my posts. I was active on Goodreads prior to having a blog, so although they’re linked, in some ways I use them quite separately. It’s always a bit weird for me to have real-life friends connect with me via social media connected to my blog. Unless they’re people I discuss books with anyway, I prefer to maintain some boundaries! It’s all good food for thought, and for me a lot of it comes down to time!

    1. Hi Lisa, thanks for leaving such great comments! It’s helpful to know what other people do. I don’t think I really understand how to use Goodreads as well, but I think it has some good features. I know what you mean about mixing real-life friends with the rest of social media. It’s a weird feeling. I like to think of my Twitter, Goodreads and FB page followers as my professional groups, even though this is still just a hobby. I would like to build this all into something. What, I don’t know!

  4. I realize social media has its benefits, but as a new blogger, becoming visible in a sea of internet humanity is daunting. I recently started using Twitter (reposting, updates, retweeting, etc) and I’m getting several follows. I get a slew of news feed I’m not even interested in (and that’s from the folks I follow!) so I’ve had tweaked my settings a bit to pare it down. I am an infrequent visitor to my personal page so it doesn’t make sense to set up one for my blog. I’ve been a member of Goodreads for a couple of years and all I ever do with it is keep shelves and post reviews. I have friends there but we don’t connect. I really don’t like to browse for books there but reviews are helpful. I used to have a WP blog but have since created a new one (different topic) in Blogger.

  5. I realize social media has its benefits, but as a new blogger, becoming visible in a sea of internet humanity is daunting. I recently started using Twitter (reposting, updates, retweeting, etc) and I’m getting several follows. I get a slew of news feed I’m not even interested in (and that’s from the folks I follow!) so I’ve had tweaked my settings a bit to pare it down. I am an infrequent visitor to my personal Facebook account so it doesn’t make sense to set up one for my blog. I’ve been a member of Goodreads for a couple of years and all I ever do with it is keep shelves and post reviews. I have friends there but we don’t connect. I really don’t like to browse for books there but reviews are helpful. I used to have a WP blog but have since created a new one (different topic) in Blogger.

  6. Wow. Good for you! You’ve been busy. I feel like promoting on social sites is a full time job and I just get bored with it. Sigh. But I DO feel the same about WordPress. I like it here. I don’t like it when people start their own private blogs and it isn’t as easy to interact with them. WordPress feels like a protective little cove to me, but I can always tell when someone “likes” something without really reading it and that feels knd of gamey. Anyway, keep us posted on your progress!!

    1. Thanks Charlotte ;)! I agree it could be a full time job, but this is still a hobby for me and I have a busy life outside my blog. I also get a little bored with the monotony of seeking attention. I definitely have to be in the mood. I also agree that the likes and comments on WordPress seem a lot more sincere, like you said, it kind of feels like home! Still I like the idea of building something and that’s why I’m into connecting it all. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Great points!

  7. Thanks for this post!! I’ve been a blogger for almost three years and I’m starting to get out more on different social media channels. There is definitely a lot to learn but it’s fun at the same time as you meet so many others. I’m a new follower on Twitter and I look forward to connecting.

    1. Thanks for reading and commenting. I have developed a solid respect for social media experts. I think it is fun making all the connections, but it’s important to stay grounded to my real life!

Tell me what you're thinking!

