Reading update – All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

all the light we cannot see

I’m busy reading All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr and I already know that this will become one of my favorite books. I’m about 100 pages in and, when I have to put it down, all I can think about is the characters Doerr has created, what they will do and what will happen to them.

To show you what I mean, here are a few lines that make me want to keep reading:

In another half second her father’s hands are in her armpits, swinging her up, and Marie-Laure smiles, and he laughs a pure, contagious laugh, one she will try to remember all her life, father and daughter turning in circles on the sidewalk in front of their apartment house, laughing together while snow sifts through the branches above. (p. 41)

And yet everything radiates tension, as if the city has been built upon the skin of a balloon and someone is inflating it toward the breaking point. (p. 70)

In her coat against the black trees, her face looks paler and more frightened than he has ever seen it. Has he ever asked so much of her? (p. 108)

Thanks for visiting – check back soon for my review!

6 thoughts on “Reading update – All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

  1. I couldn’t get into this book on my first try. But the second time I was hooked and ended up loving the book.

  2. Will have to check this one out… The title intrigued me. Btw, I read an absolutely amazing book called Gretel and the Dark. Have you read it yet? I’d love to know what you think of it.

Tell me what you're thinking!

