What’s new with Book Club Mom?

Here are a few of the things happening in my world:

Stll Life with Bread Crumbs
I’m about to begin reading Still Life with Bread Crumbs, by Anna Quindlen.  Quindlen is an American author, journalist and columnist. Still Life with Bread Crumbs was published in 2014 and is her latest novel. Other fiction includes One True Thing, Black and Blue and Blessings. Her New York Times column, Public and Private, won the Pulitzer Prize for Commentary in 1992. Quindlen is currently a columnist for Newsweek.

Here’s a complete list of Quindlen’s work:

FICTION
Still Life with Bread Crumbs
Every Last One
Rise and Shine
Blessings
Black and Blue
One True Thing
Object Lessons

NONFICTION
Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake
Good Dog, Stay
Being Perfect
Loud and Clear
A Short Guide to a Happy Life
How Reading Changed My Life
Thinking Out Loud
Living Out Loud

BOOKS FOR CHILDREN
Happily Ever After
The Tree That Came to Stay

Other Miscellaneous Happenings:

  • My blogging friend, Cathy of 746 Books, recently posted about a great picture book by Chris Van Allsburg entitled The Mysteries of Harris Burdick. Check out her post on this book by clicking here. Van Allsburg (visit his website here) is an American author and illustrator of children’s books, including The Polar Express and Jumanji.  In The Mysteries of Harris Burdick, each picture is paired with a title and a few lines, designed to spark the imagination. My kids have outgrown picture books, but I got it at the library anyway. I agree with Kathy – this book isn’t just for kids!

The Mysteries of Harris Burdick ping

  • Summer is just around the corner and many parents are wondering how they will be able to keep their kids reading. My friend, Margaret, sent me a link to this helpful article from the Washington Post, Advice from kids’ authors: How do you get kids excited to read?
  • And for adult readers, Popsugar.com has published a list of the hottest new books to read this summer. Click here to check it out!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

8 thoughts on “What’s new with Book Club Mom?

  1. I loved Still Life with Bread Crumbs…in fact, I am a big fan and eagerly await all of her books, both fiction and nonfiction. I see some nonfiction books I haven’t read…off to check them out!

  2. She’s my favorite. I love her writing style, both fiction and non-fiction. Blessings is another one of her best. I’ve read them all, fiction and non-fiction. This one is interesting because it’s essentially a romance, but done so well. I could just keep rambling. She’s brilliant. Enjoy!

Tell me what you're thinking!

