What’s up next? The Valley of Amazement, by Amy Tan

the valley of amazament pic

I’m getting ready to read The Valley of Amazement, my local book club’s selection for June. I haven’t read anything by Amy Tan in a long time and I’m looking forward to enjoying this one, which was published in 2013.

The Valley of Amazement is about two women, mother and daughter. The daughter’s story begins in Shanghai during the 1912 overthrow of the Ching dynasty. Violet Minturn’s mother is the American madam of an exclusive courtesan house and her daughter is half-Chinese and half-American. During the overthrow, Violet is separated from her mother and is forced to become a “virgin courtesan.”

The mother’s story begins in 1897 in San Francisco. Lucia is sixteen when she falls for a Chinese painter and moves to Shanghai, where she struggles to follow Chinese tradition. Both women, during different times, rebel against society’s expectations and search for love and acceptance.

Sounds great, doesn’t it?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

8 thoughts on “What’s up next? The Valley of Amazement, by Amy Tan

  1. Oh you need to let me know how it goes! I read it when it first came out and it surprisingly didn’t make an impression on me though I love Amy Tan. If I recall correctly, the main character pissed me off intensely.

Tell me what you're thinking!

