Who’s That Author? Melanie Rae Thon

Who's that author final

Melanie Rae Thon
Melanie Rae Thon

Melanie Rae Thon is an American writer of fiction, both short stories and novels. She is a professor of English at the University of Utah. Here is her biography as it appears on the University of Utah faculty website.

Biography: Melanie Rae Thon’s most recent books are the novel The Voice of the River and In This Light: New and Selected Stories.  She is also the author of the novels Sweet HeartsMeteors in August, and Iona Moon,  and the story collections  First, Body  and  Girls in the Grass.  Thon’s work has been included in Best American Short Stories (1995, 1996), three  Pushcart Prize Anthologies  (2003, 2006, 2008),  and  O. Henry Prize Stories  (2006).  She is a recipient of a Whiting Writer’s Award (1997), two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts  (1992 and 2008),  a Writer’s Residency from the Lannan Foundation  (2005),  and a fellowship from the Tanner Humanities Center  (2009).  Thon’s fiction has been translated into French, Italian, German, Spanish, Croatian, Finnish, Japanese, Arabic, and Farsi.  Originally from Montana, Thon now lives in Salt Lake City, where she teaches in the Creative Writing and Environmental Humanities programs at the University of Utah.

You can find more information about Thon at these websites:


Be sure to visit these reviews and related posts about Thon:

“First, Body”

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

Tell me what you're thinking!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s