Friday Fiction Recap – Thank You for Reading!

Friday Fiction

I want to thank everyone who followed my Friday Fiction. As some of you know, I wrote Jessica in 2012 as part of the No Plot? No Problem! novel-writing kit by Chris Baty. Baty is Founder of National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo, a program I know many people participate in. I had a lot of fun writing Jessica and, even though I know the story is full of holes and inconsistencies, I took a leap in sharing it. I’ve had a lot of laughs with some of you about my characters and plot lines, which I know were sometimes outrageous!

No Plot No Problem cover

While I completed the 30-day, 50,000 word requirement, I was a little short on a conclusion and so I knocked out the last few chapters on the fly. I also added to and polished many of the chapters as I went along, which was a good writing experience for me.

No Plot No Problem kit p ic

I have written two other stories. I’m thinking about sharing them on Friday Fiction at some point, but for now, I’m going to take a break.

Here are the chapter links to Jessica, in case you want to take another look. You’ve sent me some terrific feedback and words of encouragement!

Chapter 1 – “Jimmy”
Chapter 2 – “Stevie”
Chapter 3 – “A Photo and a Letter”
Chapter 4 – “The Life Within”
Chapter 5 – “Jimmy’s Truck”
Chapter 6 – “The Springs Diner”
Chapter 7 – “Dinner and a Game”
Chapter 8 – “He Made Me Nervous”
Chapter 9 – “I Called Dad on My Thirteenth Birthday”
Chapter 10 – “Connections and Time”
Chapter 11 – “The Reverse Apology”
Chapter 12 – “Empty Bedrooms”
Chapter 13 – “Job Description”
Chapter 14 – “The Car I Saw”
Chapter 15 – “It’s Not What You Think”
Chapter 16 – “A Different Route”
Chapter 17 – “Choosing Balance”
Chapter 18 – “A Mother Sees”
Chapter 19 – “Taking More”
Chapter 20 – “Robbing the Future”
Chapter 21 – “I Thought I Didn’t Need Her”
Chapter 22 – “It Was Up to Me”
Chapter 23 – “Separate and Icy”
Chapter 24 – “Striking a Nerve”
Chapter 25 – “Help Has Its Price”
Chapter 26 – “Who Asked for Help?”
Chapter 27 – “You’ve Done Enough”
Chapter 28 – “The Plan”
Chapter 29 – “Who Says I’m Not Okay?”
Chapter 30 – “What’s So Great about Balance?”
Chapter 31 – “I’ll Call You When It’s Over”
Chapter 32 – “Sorting It Out”
Chapter 33 – “Truth and Lies”
Chapter 34 – “The Car-Port House”
Chapter 35 – “It’s a Dead Yard”
Chapter 36 – “I Just Want To See Him”
Chapter 37 – “I’m Not Going Anywhere”
Chapter 38 – “He’s Here Now”
Chapter 39 – “Not Everything Changes”
Chapter 40 – “Anger’s Release”
Chapter 41 – “What Are Rights?”
Chapter 42 – “Visiting Stu”
Chapter 43 – “Control”
Chapter 44 – “Balance of Power”
Chapter 45 – “Stevie’s Battle”
Chapter 46 – “Small Gestures”
Chapter 47 – “The People We Lean On”
Chapter 48 – “Hearts Were Mending”

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

9 thoughts on “Friday Fiction Recap – Thank You for Reading!

  1. I too have NaNo novel that I’ve been revising since 2009. I’ve been working with a critique group since then and may be ready–at some point–to share it in subscription fashion as you’ve done here. I’ve bookmarked it and will return to read. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thank you for these links because I know I probably missed a few Fridays. Enjoy your break (but not too long of one, ok? :o). I had heard about NaNoWriMo but not the No Plot No Problem kit. Sounds interesting. So thanks again!

    1. And thanks for your support! My family got me the kit for Mother’s Day. I think it’s a lot like the NaNoWriMo, but you do it independently instead of in November. I did them in the summer because I’d never have time in the fall – too busy! Happy Sunday!

  3. As you know, I’ve really enjoyed your story. I used to read it while I was eating lunch on Friday – I’ll be missing Jess now! Please do this again!

Tell me what you're thinking!

