Blog views and other obsessions – timing posts and social media pushes

brainsonfire.com
brainsonfire.com

As a book blogger I tend to get my posts out there whenever I can, regardless of the day of the week or hour on the clock.  But now that I’m working, I have to be more organized and that got me thinking about when the best times would be to blog and then push my posts through social media.

Although I blog about books because it’s lots of fun, I definitely want people to read and interact with what I have to say!  Comments are one of the best parts of blogging.  They are like getting gold stickers on a test paper.  I love receiving them and getting to know other bloggers.

Here are the results of my mini research project about the best days and times to do blog-related activities:

First, some general guidelines to increase your traffic:

  • Be consistent to develop an audience.
  • Get the most out of your tweets and other links.  Many people discover blog content through social media.  So the timing of your blog post isn’t quite as important as when you send out links to your posts.  Not surprisingly, many people who work surf through social media during lunch and on breaks, so schedule your tweets and other social media during those times.
  • Consider the “evergreen” concept – posting material that can be enjoyed year round.  These posts are not time sensitive or topical.  It’s like building an inventory.
  • Post as often as possible but always provide high quality content.  Resist the urge to post anything less than that.
  • Pay attention to your own stats – they will tell you specifics about when your posts are being read.

WordPress Insights can give you some of this information.  Here’s what it says about Book Club Mom’s best day and time:

BCM stats

Here are some of the best times and days to get out there on social media.  But remember, your blog might be dependent on specific factors.  Your audience might tune into you after work, for example, or on weekends.  (All times are Eastern Standard Time.)


FACEBOOK – People use Facebook at work, home, on mobile and desktop (no surprises there!), but specifically, these are the best times:

12-1 pm on Saturdays and Sundays
3-4 pm on Wednesdays
1-4 pm on Thursdays and Fridays

The worst times to post on Facebook are weekends before 8 am and after 8 pm.


TWITTER – used at work and home, usually during downtimes like commutes and breaks.

12-3 pm Monday – Friday
5-6 pm Wednesdays
Best day – Wednesday


LinkedIn – professionals use it during working hours.

Best times:

On Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays:
7:30-8:30 am
12 pm
5-6 pm

On Tuesdays:
10-11 am

The worst time to post on LinkedIn is between 10 pm and 6 am.


PINTEREST – mostly female users in the evenings

2-4 am and evening hours every day (yes, that’s 2-4 am!)
5 pm on Fridays
8-11 pm on Saturdays


INSTAGRAM – used on mobiles all the time, but the best times are:

Any time Mon-Thurs, except between 3-4 pm
Videos are best to post between 9 pm and 8 am


I’m not sure I can line everything up, but it is definitely interesting to think about.  There is a lot of great information about blogging and timing your social media.  Check out these interesting and helpful posts:

HubSpot.com “The Best Times to Post on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn & Other Social Media Sites”
Torquemag.io “Strategic blogging: the best time to publish and share content”
blogpress.com “Is There a Best Time or Day to Post My Blog?”

Do you have a blogging schedule?  Do you pay attention to the day and time?  How active are you on other social media sites and do you schedule your pushes?  I like to read blogs in the evening or while I eat breakfast.  I catch up on a lot of them on weekends.  How about you?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

21 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – timing posts and social media pushes

  1. This is a handy reference, Barbara. I think I’ll bookmark it and try out those peak times. I had to smile when I read about females on Pinterest between 2 and 4 am. That was me at 2 this morning with insomnia! No joke!

  2. I post on Mondays (and sometimes only every other Monday) in the morning, but I don’t focus on a specific time. Not with any of my social media sites, either. I just put it out there when I can. But these are helpful tips for sure. I never realized we can find out our blog’s best performance day and hour. I don’t do much with my stats either. :/

    1. I am a little obsessed with my stats but I also don’t pick certain times to post or tweet. Like you, I jump in when I have the time and see what happens! Thanks for reading and commenting, Carrie.

  3. I have a small collection of various articles on when to post and how to do it consistently, but for now my world of small children just lets me cross my fingers and wing it. When the littles get a bit more consistent my hope is that I will too! Great post – I’m saving it in my collection 🙂

  4. I have written many posts on blogging and noting ways to increase readership. You have hit many valuable points. What sparked my interest long ago is meeting hundreds of fellow bloggers at the annual Garden Bloggers Fling. They had a talk on this issue and I had a far different view. Too many write on “nothing of interest” which does not provide interest, useful information or entertainment. My advice, make posts that make readers want to read. Always post quality work and readers will delight in reading.

  5. Great suggestions! Personally, I try to find a balance between effective blogging and what works best with my personal life. I think our goals for our blogs influence those decisions as well. I’m still struggling a bit with this one, so your advice is very helpful!

    1. I know exactly what you’re saying. Unless someone starts paying me to blog, my posts have to happen when they happen and same with my tweets and other social media. Thanks for joining in!

  6. I’m definitely not a “routine” blogger. It is true that if you actively participate in “challenge” blogs you’ll get more likes and follows and I have tried it but in the end I come back to trying to give my readers the best I can and not waste their time (which is for many people – precious).

  7. These are some great tips! For the longest time, I didn’t make a twitter and FB page as I thought I will get overwhelmed with all the social media accounts. But as time went by, I have started to enjoy the social media interaction. And I agree with you regarding posting quality over quantity.
    Thanks a lot for sharing this. Tweeting 🙂

  8. Hi Barbara,
    I try to post on weekdays after 3 pm to reach an audience from Europe to the American West Coast. If I post around 3pm, I can even reach people in Australia before they go to bed. 🙂

      1. As it is for European bloggers. 🙂 But I know that this seems to be an issue in the US no matter if you are on the East- or on the West Coast.
        It was confusing for me to watch Canadian TV at first when I visited my grandma. Over here, we’re not used to those time zones.

      2. Yes you are right. What’s crazy is that people are checking their phones at ALL hours of the day and night. Personally, I take a break during after hours!

      3. Oh yes I hate that. When you’re having lunch with someone and they stare at their phone all the time. Thank god I don’t have a smartphone. I’m spending the whole day in front of a computer, my eyes and brain need a break at some point.

Tell me what you're thinking!

