The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl
The Good Girl
by
Mary Kubica

Rating:

2 book marks

I enjoy unraveling a story and figuring out what motivates characters and this story is full of things to analyze.   While the The Good Girl is a bit of a mystery, I’d describe it more as a psychological thriller in which the main players are good and bad, have grown up in dysfunctional families and have complicated ideas about love and family.

The story begins when Mia Dennett, a 24-year-old art teacher, doesn’t show up for work.  Her father, James Dennett, a wealthy and influential judge in Chicago, uses his connections to build an investigative team.  Then he goes back to work while Mia’s mother Eve sits at home and worries.  Gabe Hoffman is the detective on the case.  He has a chip on his shoulder and is determined to find Mia if for nothing else than to improve his credibility.

Because the book is structured with a “Before” and “After”, the reader knows a little about its resolution, however, the “After” is full of complications, some of them predictable and some surprising.  It is told through the points of view of Eve, Gabe and Colin, the man responsible for Mia’s disappearance, and it isn’t until late in the book that the reader begins to fully understand her.

I enjoyed most of the story, bought into Mia’s character and developed sympathy for Colin, however, I don’t think the ending’s surprise twist fits the story.

But the author’s poor decision to describe the previously unseen villain in the Epilogue as “black, like the blackest of black bears, like the blubbery skin of the killer whale” ruins what could have been an entertaining read.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon.

6 thoughts on “The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

  1. I added this book to my Kindle months ago when I saw it was available to read through the Kindle Unlimited program. I still haven’t read it, and after reading your review, I’m glad I never got around to it. Nice review!

    1. I hate to tell people not to read a book. I’d been warned about the ending being a problem, but aside from the twist which is part of the genre, I did not expect racial stereotyping. I’ve seen it called out on other reviews of this book, so I know I’m not the only one who sees it as offensive. So read at your own risk, I guess that’s my advice!

  2. It was just this year that I learned what a story is being told by a POV character. I never really thought about it before, but now see how important it can be to the story. Now I learned something new here, Before and After structuring a story. Do you analyze books you read for structure? Like break them down into their structure?

    1. Actually I don’t although lots of people do. I think it’s interesting but I try to just enjoy what I’m reading rather than break it down. I’ve never been the kind to try to solve a mystery on the first page! Thanks for stopping by!

Tell me what you're thinking!

