Stieg Larsson Millennium Series – Lisbeth Salander Novels

the girl with the dragon tattoo pic    The Girl who played with fire pic    The girl who kicked the hornet's nest pic

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Girl Who Played with Fire

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

by
Stieg Larsson

Rating:
5 book marks

Now that summer is around the corner, maybe you’re looking for something gripping to read on the beach, near a pool, in your backyard or on an airplane.  If you haven’t read Stieg Larsson’s suspenseful series about Lisbeth Salander, one of the most enigmatic but admirable characters I’ve ever encountered, consider picking up The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and see if you’re not hooked and working to get your hands on the whole series.

Stieg Larsson was a Swedish writer and journalist.  He died unexpectedly in 2004 and the three books were discovered and published after his death.  Larsson had written them for his own pleasure and had not tried to get them published until just before he died.  All three books make clear Larsson’s outrage over child abuse, sexual abuse and violence against women.  His answer to these atrocities is Lisbeth Salander, small in size, but one of the toughest female characters you will ever meet.


Now there are four books in the series.  The fourth book, The Girl in the Spider’s Web, is written by David Lagercrantz and is available in paperback today, May 24, 2016.

The Girl in the Spider's Web


the girl with the dragon tattoo picThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a murder mystery, family saga and love story and revolves around the search for Harriet Vanger.  Vanger is a descendant of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families and has been missing for more than forty years.  Harriet’s uncle hires investigative journalist Mikael Blomkvist to find out what happened and Lisbeth Salander steps in as an ace investigator and computer hacker.


The Girl who played with fire picThe Girl Who Played with Fire begins with two brutal murders, just as Blomkvist is about to publish an exposé on a huge sex trafficking operation.  When Blomkvist learns that Salander’s fingerprints are on the murder weapon, he knows he must prove her innocence.


The girl who kicked the hornet's nest picIn The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, Salander is near death in a Swedish hospital.  If she recovers, she will face charges for three murders.  Once again, Mikael Blomkvist helps Salander continue their fight against violence and abuse.  Separately, Salander has some revenge to exact against the man who tried to kill her and the government institutions that have nearly ruined her.


The Girl in the Spider's WebHere is Amazon’s description of The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz:

“Late one night, Blomkvist receives a phone call from a source claiming to have information vital to the United States. The source has been in contact with a young female superhacker—a hacker resembling someone Blomkvist knows all too well. The implications are staggering. Blomkvist, in desperate need of a scoop for Millennium, turns to Salander for help. She, as usual, has her own agenda. The secret they are both chasing is at the center of a tangled web of spies, cybercriminals, and governments around the world, and someone is prepared to kill to protect it . . .”


Readers may be uncomfortable with the brutal violence in this series, however, the author’s disgust for abuse makes a very clear divide between right and wrong.

I read the Larsson series about four years ago.  I may have to read them again before I check out Book Four!

Click here to read about Stieg Larsson on Wikipedia.  You can find more information on Stieglarsson.com, a website dedicated to Larsson’s works.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

10 thoughts on “Stieg Larsson Millennium Series – Lisbeth Salander Novels

  1. For some reason (I think I know why), I’ve never been able to really get into these books — I’m even Swedish! I read incessantly and love good literature. But, I’m going to try again. I have all of them on my Kindle.

    1. Well I would say the only downside is the violence. I hate to say I got used to it but I think the characters are so excellent I was willing to deal with the violence. Thanks for commenting!

  2. I read these when they came out and was immediately caught up in the story and the characters – the extreme violence got to me a bit though. I wonder what the latest one will be like – I feel slightly disloyal reading a book based on the series but not written by Steig Larsson. I might take a closer look though. I’ve never seen those book covers before – hmmm…not too impressed. What do you think?

    1. I also feel funny reading a book series with a different author but I am curious about the writing style in the Spider’s Web. That’s interesting about the covers- these are the ones we see in the U.S.!

      1. Oh, I didn’t realise those wer the American covers. The ones in Europe were black mostly with the name or black with images in them. Rather fitted the dark themes! Okay, I’m going to take a look at the fourth book for a summer read!

  3. Isn’t it interesting that different countries have different covers? That’s marketing for you! You’ll have to tell me what you think of the fourth book. I’m sure I’ll get to it eventually. 😀

Tell me what you're thinking!

