Book Club Mom Summer Update

Source:  keyword-suggestions.com
Source: keyword-suggestions.com

Here comes summer!  The college kids are home and the other guys finish this week.  Between summer jobs and other activities, there will be a lot of coming and going at our house.  I haven’t completely adjusted to the new schedules, but we’ll settle in soon.  Here’s what’s going on for me:

  • I just signed up for the Adult Summer Reading Challenge at my library job.  I’ve never done a book challenge before.  It sounds like fun and when you work in a library, there is plenty of motivation to get started!  The goal is to read 16 books in 16 weeks.  Although I can pick my own books, they have to fit into predetermined categories, including a book written the year I was born, a banned book, and a book with bad reviews.  I haven’t started reading or even selected my first book, but expect to hear more about the challenge as the summer heats up.
  • I’m working on interview questions for Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of The Immortals.  I enjoyed this first book of a mythology series about the Greek goddess Artemis in modern-day Manhattan.  You can check out my review here.
  • I’m also working on a Heart Beings article about the importance of asking for help when you need it, related to my read of The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer.  (Click here to read my review.) Her book was more about asking for money help, but there are a few tips in there I’ll be able to use.

It’s going to be busy this summer, but lots of fun too.  What’s on your schedule?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

16 thoughts on “Book Club Mom Summer Update

  1. Sounds like you will have a good summer.

    On my list: Polishing my memoir, selling TALENT, coaching writers, teaching for SCN, reviewing books, and enjoying life. Also things I am sure I have forgotten.

  2. I wish I could read 16 books in 16 weeks. Maybe in the future. Can’t wait to hear about it. And I love the categories! 😄 Too funny. Am checking out your review of Immortals. It sounds awesome.

  3. I’m on my second book this week. Love having picked up a book again. Used to be I would read 2 to 3 books a week. Then….computer. Life. I miss my books. Determined to pick one up again.

    1. Wow that’s great! I used to read about a book a week, and sometimes I still do, but since I went back to work, I’ve had less free time. Thanks for visiting Chatter Blog!

  4. Wishing you a lovely summer and enjoy the 16 books! The one that would fill me with trepidation is the book with the bad reviews – will it be that bad? Or even worse? Or possibly a good read? A few weeks until Summer but then the usual wonderful peaceful break in Sweden – no wifi, TV, computer – so total break with lots of reading and time outside. Also a trip to Florida – my first time ever so super-excited – although petrified of flying!!

Tell me what you're thinking!

