Blog views and other obsessions – the summer slump

brainsonfire.com
brainsonfire.com

Summer is here and with that comes a lag in certain types of blogging activity – viewing, commenting and sharing.  Have you noticed?  We bloggers may be working hard all summer, writing posts and reaching out to other readers, but, when it comes to drawing people to our sites, we just can’t compete with beaches, family time and summer schedules.

If you’ve been blogging for a few years, you may have already noticed the ups and downs on your stats page. June, July and August are my slowest months of the year and my biggest months are September, October and November.  December is slower, then it picks up again in January.  And it has been that way since I started.

If you’re goal-oriented and obsessed with the number of views on your blog, you may worry that people have forgotten about you.

Don’t.  You can’t change what happens in the summer, so why try?

I don’t mean give up, but embrace the summer slump for what it is, a temporary slow-down.  Unless you’re a professional blogger, remind yourself that this is your hobby.  And people will return to your site, after their summer vacations!

Summer fun beach
These people are busy having fun right now, but they’ll be back in the fall! Photo: pinterest.com

What’s your stat pattern?  Do you worry about the ups and downs or do you chill under an umbrella with a cold drink?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

21 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – the summer slump

  1. Thanks Barb, for this reminder. I sort of go into a slump over the summer too, and don’t blog as much. I do try to keep up with others but hope they’ll understand that this time of year can make people like me lazy.

  2. I hadn’t noticed. I try not to look at the stats. It’s always depressing! I guess what you’re saying is prepare to be more depressed! ; )

  3. Honestly, I never look at my stats. I see the views that I get on my page and the subscribers. There are some people that leave and some that come. I only worry about the content that I am writing. I wish there was a way that I can be paid for writing my blog, but I’d still do it either way.

  4. Good advice…although I rarely think about or remember that there are such stats to check. Too many other things to do, I guess. Writing posts and chlliin’ under a beach umbrella sounds nice! :o)

  5. It’s taken me awhile, but I have learned not to pay much attention to my “stats” and to focus more on the quality of the posts (how much I like what I’ve written) and to the quality of the feedback I do get. Nothing beats having someone say, “You wrote exactly what I was thinking!” And that’s good enough.

    1. I shouldn’t check so much but I do – I’m mostly interested in trends. And I just like stats. My Twitter stats are a little depressing though. Unless you’re on 24/7 they go down! Thanks for reading and commenting.

Tell me what you're thinking!

