A Quick Look Back at the Good Stuff

Renoir woman reading
The Reader – Pierre-Auguste Renoir wikiart.org

We’re halfway through 2016 and that’s a good time to take a quick look back at the good stuff we’ve read.  Thanks to Cleopatra Loves Books and Hopewell’s Public Library of Life for giving me the idea.  I made my list.  What’s on yours?


Highly Recommended

olive kitt pic A Farewell to Arms  The Munich Girl  The Hours Count

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway
The Munich Girl by Phyllis Edgerly Ring
The Hours Count by Jillian Cantor


Favorite Thrillers & Psychological Twisters

Eating Bull  The Girl on the Train

Eating Bull by Carrie Rubin
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins


Best Book 1 in a Series

The Immortals

The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky


Heavy but Good

I Refuse

I Refuse by Per Petterson


On the Lighter Side

The Vacationers

The Vacationers by Emma Straub


Notable Non-Fiction

The Ghost Map  Colors of Naples and the Amalfi Coast  Yes Please

The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Colors of Naples and the Amalfi Coast by Margie Miklas
Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

15 thoughts on “A Quick Look Back at the Good Stuff

  1. How wonderful to see Eating Bull make the list. Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I loved The Girl on the Train, so I certainly won’t complain about the company you’ve got me keeping!

  2. From your list, I’ve only read Girl on the Train. Thanks for providing many titles to consider.

    Some of my favs from the first half of this year:
    Discovered a new author, whose books are perfect beach (or couch) feel-good stories. Loved Sarah-Kate Lynch’s Wedding Bees and Blessed are the Cheesemakers.
    Though there are many amazing YA books out, I prefer to read adult books. But since I often skip synopsis and do with recommendations, I read and LOVED Renee Ahdeih’s duology that starts with The Wrath and the Dawn.
    Loved Anne Forteir’s Lost Sisterhood.

    1. Hi Natalia, I enjoyed The Girl on the Train – that genre is becoming one of my favorites. Your recommendations sound interesting. I was on a YA kick for a while, but I think I also prefer adult books. I’ll have to check out some of the ones you’ve listed. Thanks for commenting and happy reading!

  3. Great list, thanks! I picked up ‘The Ghost Map’ at the library and really enjoyed it It was definitely not something I would have read without your recommendation, so thanks again! I passed it on to my two sons who are interested in the medical field. Good stuff!

    1. Wow, that’s so great! I never would have picked it up if my son hadn’t read it in college. I thought it was very interesting. Glad it worked out for you too! Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. A great list here and I have now got a couple of these for the holidays. Amongst my top reads for the first half of the year are ‘All the Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr, ‘Birds Without Wings’ by Louis de Bernieres and ‘A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding’ by Jackie Copeleton as well as ‘Mourning Has Broken’ by Carol Balawyder.

  5. Great choices! Although not an adult book, one of my favorite recent reads has been “The War That Saved My Life.” I’ve also enjoyed “The Summer Before the War” and “The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend.” I’ll second “All the Light We Cannot See” and add “The Invention of Wings.”

Tell me what you're thinking!

