Summer Reading Challenge Update

Source:  keyword-suggestions.com
Source: keyword-suggestions.com

Well the weeks of summer are winding down and I’m only a little more than halfway through my 16 in 16 Challenge.  I’m not stressing though.  These are the lazy days of summer, right?

I’m reading lots of books I wouldn’t have selected on my own and, although the challenge runs through August, I’m going to keep cracking the books until the official end of summer, September 21.

Where did I get these challenge prompts?  They came from the library where I work.  Since many of you have asked, here’s the list:

A book you can finish in a day

A book recommended by a librarian

A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

A book written in the year you were born

A book that was banned at some point

A book being made into a movie this year

A book translated to English

A book with a blue cover

A book chosen for you by your spouse, partner, sibling, child, or BFF

A book in a genre you typically don’t read

A book to help you learn something new

A book “everyone” has read but you

A book with bad reviews

A book written by someone under 30 or over 70

A book with non-human characters

The second book in a series


Here’s what’s been in my beach tote:

The Good Neighbor  Calmer Girls   The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian   I Refuse   The Vacationers

The Ghost Map   The Beginner's Photography Guide   The Ocean at the End of the Lane   Brooklyn on Fire

How’s your summer reading coming along?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

12 thoughts on “Summer Reading Challenge Update

  1. Those are very interesting prompts, and guaranteed to ensure that you read a variety of books! My book club could use that, as we tend to stick to the same kind of book far too often, in my opinion.

Tell me what you're thinking!

