Who’s That Author? Herman Wouk

photo: hermanwouk.com
photo: hermanwouk.com

Herman Wouk is an award-winning American author of fiction, non-fiction and plays.  He may be the most famous for The Caine Mutiny, which won the 1952 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, but many readers in my age group will also remember his hugely popular historical novels, also about World War II, The Winds of War and War and Remembrance.  The first book was made into the very popular 1983 television miniseries starring Robert Mitchum, Ali McGraw, Jan-Michael Vincent, John Houseman and Polly Bergen.  Its sequel was released in 1988, with the return of Mitchum and Bergen and added others including Jane Seymour and Sharon Stone.  You can check out the sequel’s full cast and crew here.

Another favorite of mine is Marjorie Morningstar, published in 1955.  It’s the story of a nineteen-year-old Jewish girl from New York who dreams of becoming an actress.  Warner Brothers made it into a movie in 1958, starring Natalie Wood and Gene Kelly.

Wouk has had a long career.  He celebrated his 100th birthday in May 2015 when he announced the January 2016 release of his autobiographical memoir, Sailor and Fiddler – Reflections of a 100-year-Old Author.  Visit Simon and Schuster here for more information about this book, which Wouk has announced will be his last.

Sailor and Fiddler

I haven’t read everything Herman Wouk has written, but if you know me, you know how I feel about Youngblood Hawke!  I think I’m about to go on a Wouk binge to catch up on what I’ve missed.

Here’s a list of Wouk’s work, taken from his website, cited below:

Bibliography (Fiction and Non-Fiction)
Sailor and Fiddler: Reflections of a 100-Year Old Author (2015)
The Lawgiver
(2012)
The Language God Talks (2010)
A Hole in Texas (2004)
The Will to Live on: The Resurgence of Jewish Heritage (2000)
The Glory (1994)
The Hope (1993)
Inside, Outside (1985)
War and Remembrance (1978)
The Winds of War (1971)
The Lomokome Papers (1968)
Don’t Stop the Carnival (1965)
Youngblood Hawke (1961)
This is My God: The Jewish Way of Life (1959, revised ed. 1973)
Slattery’s Hurricane (1956)
Marjorie Morningstar (1955)
The Caine Mutiny (1951)
City Boy: The Adventures of Herbie Bookbinder (1948)
Aurora Dawn (1947)

Film & Television                                        
War and Remembrance (1988)
The Winds of War (1983)
Marjorie Morningstar (1958)
The Caine Mutiny (1954)

Theatre
Don’t Stop The Carnival (music and lyrics by Jimmy Buffett)
Nature’s Way
The Caine Mutiny Court Martial
The Traitor

For more information, click here to read an excellent article from The Atlantic (May 2015) about Wouk’s work and his 100th birthday.  You can also read Wouk’s biography on his website, hermanwouk.com.

Thanks to these additional sources:  biography.com and Wikipedia.

Have you read any of Herman Wouk’s books?  Which ones are your favorites?



Ever made an imaginary soundtrack to your favorite book? Click here to see what songs I picked for Youngblood Hawke!


Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Who’s That Author? Herman Wouk

  1. I’ve read three of Wouk’s books, which maybe doesn’t seem like that many compared to the whole, but each made a huge impression. The Caine Mutiny is amazing, and War and Remembrance and The Winds of War — well, what is there even to say? (I was blown away by the mini-series too, especially the 2nd one that left me in complete awe of Jane Seymour.) I’ve always meant to read Youngblood Hawke and Marjorie Morningstar. What a talented writer!

    1. Hi Lisa! Thanks for your comment. I’ve only read Aurora Dawn, Marjorie Morningstar and Youngblood Hawke, so we’ve read the exact opposite of books. I want to read The Caine Mutiny soon. I did watch The Winds of War miniseries and thought it was great. I’m not sure if I caught War and Remembrance – Jane Seymour is the queen of TV miniseries, though!

  2. I read Marjorie Morningstar many years ago! I’d forgotten about it until I read this. I have vague recollections about it, that she falls in love with some guy, has an affair, but then marries someone else. I never saw the movie. You’ve inspired me to read the book again and/or see the movie. Thank you!

  3. Wow! 100 and still writing and publishing books – that is a wonderful feat!! I’ve never heard of Herman Wouk so thank you for this expose about his work and life. Prolific and varied work. I saw parts of The Winds of War as young…am definitely interested at looking at some of his work. Great informative post.😃

  4. I have so enjoyed Wouk’s books. I was first introduced to him when reading Marjorie Morningstar and got absolutely hooked. I probably should re-read it (probably been 25 years since I discovered that book). I loved the entire Winds of War series. And I totally enjoyed War and Remembrance. He’s a great novelist. I wonder what his autobiography is like?

Tell me what you're thinking!

