The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler

the-beginners-goodbye
The Beginner’s Goodbye
by
Anne Tyler

Rating:
4 book marks

When Aaron’s wife suddenly dies, there’s no time to resolve the big and small issues in their marriage.  As a thirty-something widower, he can’t bear to go back to their house.  His memory of what would have blown over as a meaningless tiff hangs inside, unresolved.

Dorothy had come at just the right time in his life.  Disabled by a childhood fever, he’d spent a lifetime being managed by his mother and sister, Nandina.  Dorothy’s indifference and matter of fact personality had been just what he needed.  “What’s wrong with your arm?” she had asked when they first met.  When he explained, she said, “Huh” and they moved on and fell in love.  But their marriage was not exactly typical.  Dorothy’s medical career kept her self-focused and inattentive, on the surface.  That’s what Aaron had wanted after all.

After Dorothy’s death, Aaron wades through the early paralyzing months of grief and he remembers what he had loved about his wife, as well as a mix of other pointless marital misunderstandings.  And when Dorothy first appears by his side, he can’t make sense of her presence, but it could be his chance to make things right.

Several nice parallel stories make The Beginner’s Goodbye a refreshing read.  The title’s tie-in with Aaron’s experience is one of them.  As an editor of a family-run vanity press, his good-bye experience fits in well with the company’s beginner’s series, guides to help readers through life’s passages.  Tyler’s message seems to suggest a gentle and guided change through difficult times. I like that.  Aaron may be lost in the trenches of unhappiness, but even his predictable and monotonous office life offers new possibilities, if only he will notice.  I like that too.

Aaron’s relationship with Nandina also changes when he moves in with his sister.  Nandina, unmarried, still lives in their childhood home.  Living there, even temporarily while his house is fixed up, makes Aaron vulnerable to her doting ways.  Is it a step forward or backward?  A surprising twist in circumstances shows Aaron that nothing stays the same, and that’s good.

I enjoyed reading The Beginner’s Goodbye because of its refreshing outlook, even in tragic circumstances.  I chose this book as part of my summer reading challenge (yes, I know it’s October) to read a book by an author who is over 70.  I have read several of Tyler’s books, but nothing recent and thought this was a good way to get back into my Anne Tyler reading mode!


Note:  Summer is over, but I’m still reading my Summer Reading Challenge books!  Take a look at my choices for the 16 in 16 Challenge:

Book 1 – A Book You Can Finish in a Day:  The Good Neighbor by A.J. Banner
Book 2 – A Book in a Genre You Typically Don’t Read:  The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Book 3 – A Book with a Blue Cover:  The Vacationers by Emma Straub
Book 4 – A Book Translated to English:  I Refuse by Per Petterson
Book 5 – A Second Book in a Series:  Brooklyn on Fire by Lawrence H. Levy
Book 6 – A Book To Learn Something New: The Beginner’s Photography Guide by Chris Gatcum
Book 7 – A Book That Was Banned:  The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
Book 8 – A Book Set Somewhere You’ve Always Wanted to Visit:  Calmer Girls by Jennifer Kelland Perry
Book 9 – A Book with Non-human Characters:  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
Book 10 – A Book Recommended by a Librarian:  Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín
Book 11 – A Book Being Made into a Movie this Year:  A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Book 12 – A Book with Bad Reviews:  The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Book 13 – A Book Written the Year You Were Born:  Onion John by Joseph Krumgold
Book 14 – A Book Written by Someone Under 30 /Over 70: The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler
Book 15 – A Book “Everyone” Has Read but You:
Book 16 – A Book Chosen for You by Your Spouse, Partner, Sibling, Child or BFF:

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

23 thoughts on “The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler

  1. Barbara, I love the sound of this book – something different, thought-provoking. I’m adding this to my wish list. Ann Tyler is an inspiration, writing and publishing book in her 70s! As for summer – sun shining here, low 20s (centigrade) – not a bad start to October and I think the word summer counts!

    1. Hi Annika – it’s a quick read and light in some ways, but a nice story. I’ve always enjoyed her books. No summer here – cold and rainy – hoodie weather! That’s the northeast US for you!

    1. Thanks Lorie. They’ve been fun and that’s why I want to finish the list even though it’s October. I just told my family last night that I probably have about 100 books on my tbr list (in my head)! Happy reading!

  2. I love Ann Tyler’s writing. I must have missed this one. Thanks for drawing my attention to it. Looking forward to seeing the books chosen to complete the challenge.

  3. I’ve read several Anne Tyler books, but not this one. But I agree that she is very good at writing about coping with grief and tragedy, and also about finding joy and meaning in the everyday. Thanks for the excellent review!

Tell me what you're thinking!

