Who’s That Indie Author? Bryan Collins

Who's That Indie Author pic

bryan-collins

Author name:  Bryan Collins

Genre:  Creativity, Productivity, Non-fiction

BooksA Handbook for the Productive Writer; The Power of Creativity

a-handbook-for-the-productive-writer      the-power-of-creativity

Bio:  When I was six years of age, I read The BFG by Roald Dahl. I was enthralled by the idea of a Big Friendly Giant who collects the dreams of children.                             

Dahl was a creative God to me, so I decided I wanted to become a writer. I did all the things I was supposed to do. I went to school and then college and later, I got a job as a journalist. There was just one problem. I wasn’t a very good journalist. I didn’t have the nose for news that journalists need and, although I enjoyed writing, I couldn’t give my editors what they wanted. I missed my deadlines, and my news stories were inconsequential. Journalism cast me out. The recession didn’t help.

I drifted in and out of other jobs (I once even plucked chickens). Then, I discovered today’s writers spend time building relationships online and self-publishing.

So, I started a free email course, Become a Writer Today to help writers launch their careers and become more creative and productive.

Favorite thing about being a writer:  That you can take an idea, shape it, tell stories about it and (hopefully) help other readers with your work.

Biggest challenge as an indie author:  Balancing finding the right readers and then finding enough time to write is always a challenge. Also much great writing involves being unremittingly honest and not holding back from painful truths while writing. Doing this is always a challenge because it takes more work.

Favorite book:  There are so many to pick from and really depends on what I’m reading right now, but in no particular order I recommend:

The Journals by John Cheever, Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson, The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It For Life by Twyla Tharp, War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Contact Information:  You can find me on my website:  Become a Writer Today or ask me questions on Twitter @bryanjcollins.


Are you an indie author?  Do you want to build your indie author network? Why not get your name out on Who’s That Indie Author?

Email bvitelli2009@gmail.com for a bio template and other details, and follow along on Book Club Mom to join the indie author community!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

6 thoughts on “Who’s That Indie Author? Bryan Collins

  1. Lovely introduction to Byran. Although I never read Dahl as young, my son son adored his books and one of our favourites was the ‘Twits’ – I must have heard it over a hundred times but still we always cheered at the end!

Tell me what you're thinking!

