Blog views and other obsessions – aging out?

brainsonfire.com
brainsonfire.com

As I turn the corner and aim toward four years of blogging, I’m feeling pretty good.  As the saying goes, you’re only as old as you feel, right?  There are lots of statistics on human life expectancy, but not as many on blog life expectancy.  A little research, however, revealed some shocking results:

The average blog lasts about 100 days.

What?

Yes, that’s what Business 2 Community and Patrick’s Place report.  While these articles focus more on money-making blogs (What are those?  Someone tell me, please!), the reasons apply to all forms of blogging.  Here is why bloggers tap out after only a few months:

  • Failure to find a niche – survive by creating unique content, something readers can’t find anywhere else. What are you an expert at?
  • Failure to branch out – once you find your niche, think of ways your content can attract a broader readership. For example, if you write movie reviews, think about what people who like movies also enjoy and add posts that complement your reviews.
  • Too much marketing – no one likes a hard sell, especially people who read blogs. Make sure your content doesn’t drip with sales pushes.
  • Failure to build a social media following – linking to Facebook and Twitter isn’t enough. Interact with other bloggers.  Ask to share your posts on popular blogs (I’ve never done that, but I have “traded” posts).  Join Facebook groups and share your posts that way.  (I do this regularly, but check the group rules – some groups don’t allow sharing).
  • Not trying new things – be innovative. Vary your content.  See what works and abandon what doesn’t.

I was shocked to read the 100-day statistic.  I know a lot of people in my blogging community have been around a lot longer than 100 days.  I guess that makes us really old!

I’ve fallen into a few of these traps.  It’s hard to think of ways to branch out with content and through social media.  I’ve had some success on Facebook groups, but it’s tricky finding the right groups.  I’ve been permanently banned from a Redditt group because I didn’t understand the rules and I don’t think I have the time to expand to Instagram and other platforms.

How long have you been blogging?  Are you running out of steam?  What strategies do you use to keep your content fresh?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

28 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – aging out?

  1. Congratulations on all your years of blogging! I’ve been blogging for three and a half years too, though I admit I’m still a little guilty of failing to branch out. Does the average blog really only last 100 days? That’s amazing! Guess that makes us both old souls in the blogosphere! May we continue blogging for many years to come! 😉

  2. I was very surprised at the 100 day thing! I’m coming up to my third year, goodness how time flies! It is hard to find new topics, I started because I love book and reading and sometimes I think it’s getting a little stale… but I just carry on 😉

    1. I don’t think it’s stale! As long as we bloggers are enjoying ourselves, there’s no reason to stop, right? I think the community involvement is the most positive part of blogging, don’t you?

  3. Great post! So interesting. I almost gave up a few times due to lack of followers and readership, but I hung in there and tried to reinvent the blog. It’s finally to a place I want it to be. I’m not out to make money (I agree how do you do that?) and I still don’t have many followers, but those I do have are engaged and I cherish them. I think the key is sticking with it for the long haul and not giving up too fast, finding your voice.

    1. I agree with everything you are saying. Patience is really important. I remember early on thinking, who on earth is going to find my blog and why would they read it? Thanks for sharing your experience, Kim!

  4. My blog’s in the same age bracket as yours, and I formerly did one for a year or so. It’s not easy, but I think if you see your blog as an avenue for expressing yourself, helping other writers, and surprising your readers from time to time it can keep on rolling.

    BTW, how on earth did you get yourself banned from Reddit?! 😉

    1. I think any new bloggers should be patient. I don’t think I started to feel confident until about 2 years in. And I was banned from Reddit because they said I was sharing my own content. Thanks for reading and commenting, Kevin!

  5. Interesting! Hmmm…now I feel really old, jk! :o) Actually, i feel sort of accomplished, since I’m usually in the medium group of most statistics – as in very mediocre. Right smack in the middle of the bell curve of life. I’ve kept up on my blog for a while now…so does that make me on the right side of the bell this time? Cool! :O)

  6. Well I’m the same as you, it will be four years in March and I try to post photos every day, apart from when I am on holiday. I think if you are just trying to sell something, its not the same, its not part of your life…… I love it, it is a form of relaxation from a very busy work life, and you get to met lovely people all doing something different. Maybe we should form a club for the over three’s 🙂

  7. I think I have lasted so long because I love to write. And have a need to create. And I have NOT found a niche. So I don’t feel trapped with one style of creativity. Which is how my little doodles came to be. 🙂

  8. Hmm… 100 days… I think it took me 100 days just to figure out how to get set up. You’ve summed up the difficulties perfectly. For me, finding the balance between creating content and marketing is the challenge as they’re two completely different areas of expertise.

  9. “What?” That’s exactly what I said when I read that. I actually hit 2 years on Lemon Shark a week ago.

    So, wow. I’m guilty of 4 out of 5 of those things. Failure! Failure to find a niche, failure to branch out once you find said niche, failure to build a social media following, and not trying new things. Yikes.

  10. I enjoyed reading this and the comments. Could you please tell me what gave you the biggest boost in followers/likes? When did you numbers start to jump up so high?

    1. Hi Lisa, Thanks for stopping by. I think time is the best way to get followers and more interaction. I’m also on Twitter and FB and that definitely helps. Sharing what other people do, as long as it’s meaningful to you, is another way to get people to visit your blog, but it has to be genuine. I follow a lot of accounts on Twitter, but I can’t keep up with everyone, so I use the List feature to group accounts that are interesting and interact with those people. I also try to vary my content and not force a post just to get one out. And of course, life comes first, so it’s important to step back every now and then to gain perspective. I find when I do that my next post gets better interaction.

      1. Thanks for taking time to answer my question. I’m always amazed that people have so many followers and keep afloat. It’s all I can do to read and comment on those I enjoy most. I’m trying to speed read but am lousy at it. I enjoy words and know how much time goes into writing so I hate to fluff over pieces.
        I use FB and get many likes or comments on the actual FB page. Do those count in some way or only shares. Also, I share to Twitter but spend so much time with FB and Reader, I rarely check Twitter. Should I be doing more of that? I have an Instagram but only use that for a #365 photo project my husband and I are doing. A picture a day kind of thing.

  11. Wow! 100 days! That is kind of crazy to me. I just celebrated 6 years at my current blog, but I started my first blog in 2001 – now that is old. Kind of wish I had some of those old posts from college…quality stuff there!

Tell me what you're thinking!

