Blog views and other obsessions – back up that blog!

Source:  brainsonfire.com
Source: brainsonfire.com

“You’d better make a back-up.”  How many times have you given and received that worthy piece of advice?  Backing up important things is always a good idea, but did you ever think about backing up your blog?

Why?

Think about all the time you have invested in your blog.  Would you want to lose that?  Although WordPress already backs up your blog, lots of unusual things can happen.  Think hacking and crashes.  I like to be in charge of my files and I feel better when I know I have a backup right here at home.

WordPress has a built-in tool to export and download a backup to your computer, so why not take advantage of this free utility?   If you ever switch to a different blog, you can also use this tool to export your content to your new blog.

Here’s how:

  • Go to your Dashboard, highlight “Tools” and select “Export” from the side menu.
  • You will be asked to choose between “Export” and “Guided Export”.  WordPress charges a fee for the Guided Export, so select the free “Export” and you will see the following screen:

    back-up-blog-instruct-1

  • Choose “All content” or customize your backup by selecting the options listed.
  • Click on “Download Export File” button.

WordPress will email you a link to download a .zip file backup to your computer.  Open the email and click the link.  Select “Save File” and the backup will be sent to your Downloads folder.

back-up-blog-instruct-2

The link remains available for 7 days.  I just made my backup.  It only took a minute and I feel a lot better!

Many thanks to Hugh’s Views and News for opening my eyes to this utility!

Click here to view this WordPress Support page on backing up your blog.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

23 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – back up that blog!

  1. I tried this a while ago when I read about the possibility of losing everything form WordPress but couldn’t get it to work. I’ll try again today…many thanks for the reminder! 😀. Periodically I copy and save my posts on a Scrivener – just in case but I can’t save all the lovely and all-important comments!

  2. I had no idea I could back up my entire blog! Thanks for letting me know that I can and how. So far, all I’ve done is print a copy of my posts and hope that my blog never gets hacked or crashes. Seriously, thanks!

    1. I’m new to this too – I thought it would be helpful to share. I have my posts saved in Word, but the blog backup saves tags, images etc. I opened up the file which has a lot of code in it, but the top lines explain how to export it into a new blog if necessary. Thanks for commenting, Ann!

  3. I’ve been backing up my blog since I’ve started, but as the size of the blog grew, I outgrew the free storage space with DropBox, which was the simplest from my blog’s dashboard. Google offers more free space, but they’re difficult to setup and use without professional help. So recently I’ve been paying for DropBox space, which I really don’t like to do. I invest a huge amount of time in my blog, but time and money seem over the top. My backups are automatic. I think I’ll try your option on a day in which I feel I have an abundance of patience.

      1. I would imagine the space limit would be the space on your own computer, but since you can delete the old backups, there probably isn’t a problem. Even though my blog is only 2 years old, it’s apparently become quite large with all of the photos, taking into account that I reduce their size for quicker loading upon opening. On the one hand, having a blog can be fairly simple, but on the other, it can become extremely complicated …

      2. You might want to check to see if images are always included in the backup. I write all my posts in Word and save them, but I often tweak them over time so having a real backup with tags and all is important.

      3. Yes. I also write all my posts offline in Word and have them backed up in a folder, but organizing the layout with photos and doing all of the SEO with keywords and meta descriptions, tags and titles is a major chore in itself. I’ve been assured that images are included in the backups that I do, but of course, until you have that crash, you never really know when you aren’t an expert in these things…

  4. Thanks for the reminder. I usually write my posts using Word before (unless they are very short). When I moved to a new blog and I saved my previous blog to transfer, it didn’t actually transfer all posts, only some, so I’m not sure of how well it works but worth doing anyway.

Tell me what you're thinking!

