Who’s That Indie Author? Sarah Brentyn

Who's That Indie Author pic

sarah-brentyn-profile-pic
Author name
: Sarah Brentyn

Genre: Short Fiction/Flash Fiction

Books: Hinting at Shadows

hinting-at-shadows
Bio
: Sarah Brentyn is a woman who finds talking about herself in the third person odd.

I wrote my first story when I was nine years old and have never looked back. My work has appeared both online and in print in lit mags, newsletters, websites, newspapers, and anthologies. I have a master’s degree in writing and have taught all ages, from Kindergarteners to adults. When other girls dreamt of being a ballerina, I dreamt of scribbling my thoughts in a notebook and turning them into a book. I bleed ink.

Favorite thing about being a writer: I kind of love everything about being a writer. The feel of a pencil, the smell of paper, the click of a keyboard, the words in my head appearing on the page. It’s magical. I suppose the best part is that the characters, who feel so real to me, tell me their stories and I get to give them a voice.

Biggest challenge as an indie author: Promotion. I am an extreme introvert as well as a person who loathes talking and/or writing about herself. Well, I do enjoy chatting on my blog but it’s the promotional stuff that gets to me. I’m advertising myself. It’s very uncomfortable. Like wearing an itchy wool sweater. In summer. But slightly worse. (Oh, another challenge is that I love using fragments and those aren’t everyone’s cup of cocoa. Maybe if I add marshmallows…)

Favorite book: I wish I had an answer to this question available at all times. It would make dinner parties and author interviews so much easier. The truth is, I don’t have a favorite book. I mainly read YA but they’re not my favorite books. Bear with me. I’m a complex gal and my tastes are varied. I’d have to list the ones that speak to me or stay with me in some way: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling, The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and lots of short fiction including “The Yellow Wallpaper” by Charlotte Perkins Gilman and assorted stories by Kurt Vonnegut, Ernest Hemingway, and Edgar Allen Poe. I love any tales that are heart-wrenching, dig into a character’s psyche, and let me inside. These leave my mind spinning with possibilities about how they became who they are, why they think and act the way they do, and what might happen to them. This is what I’ve tried to accomplish in Hinting at Shadows.

Contact Information:
Amazon: Hinting at Shadows & Amazon Author Page
Blog: Lemon Shark
Twitter: @SarahBrentyn
Google+: Sarah Brentyn
Pinterest: SarahBrentyn
Website: SarahBrentyn.com


Are you an indie author?  Do you want to build your indie author network? Why not get your name out on Who’s That Indie Author?

Email bvitelli2009@gmail.com for a bio template and other details, and follow along on Book Club Mom to join the indie author community!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

37 thoughts on “Who’s That Indie Author? Sarah Brentyn

  1. Reblogged this on Lemon Shark and commented:
    As most of you know, I’ve recently released a book, Hinting at Shadows. Barbara Vitelli (aka Book Club Mom), contacted me to do an author interview for her wonderful series called “Who’s That Indie Author”. I’m delighted to be over at her place. She’s a fab book blogger and lovely lady. Please check out the interview, leave a comment there, and peek around her blog. Cheers!

  2. The Yellow Wallpaper was amazing. I’ve stayed in a number of places over the years that well could have been that room’s inspiration, though luckily I only had to stay over a night or two at any given time.

    Sarah, I am totally sympathizing with you about the promotional bit. Having to talk about yourself is the worst side effect of publishing a book. But at least you have a book in hand, so it’s not all bad.

    1. Another Yellow Wallpaper fan! I’m way more excited than I probably should be. And I don’t envy you those stays.

      Yeah, the promotional piece is brutal. More so for some than others. But I have this awesome interview now and, yes, a book in hand. ❤️

  3. Nice to catch up with this interview. Sarah’s new book looks enticing and she’s a pleasure to follow. I don’t think you, Sarah, are alone on hating promotion (other than interviews ha ha). The good part is we all are in the same boat and commiserate ❤

    1. YA soul sister! 😀 That’s awesome. I’m envious of all your UK meet-ups. I have to get back over there someday soon. Yes, we’d be able to chat for hours about our YA faves! ❤ That would be a blast.

  4. Great to read more about your writing background Sarah, I am not at all surprised to learn of your lifelong passion…it shows, and I love your writing, as you well know (and I love those fragments… 😉 ) Off to your Amazon Page… 🙂 ❤

    1. Aaw…thanks, Sherri. ❤ What a lovely comment. Writing is for sure a lifelong passion of mine but I adore the compliment that it shows in my work. (And glad you like the fragments. They're awesome, right? ) 🙂 Thank you!

Tell me what you're thinking!

