Books with “wife” in the title – how many have you read?

Photo: theguardian.com
Photo: theguardian.com

I’ve read a lot of girl books (click here to see what I mean), but there are just as many books with “wife” in the title.  In the case of the girl books, I think it’s about marketing coming-of-age stories.  As for the wife books, whether or not it’s sexist, readers like to know what’s going on behind the scenes:  the wife of someone famous or the wife who leads a separate and interesting life.  What I think it comes down to is what will grab the reader’s attention.  What do you think?

Here’s what I found in my archives:



the aviator's pic
The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin
historical fiction about the public and private lives of Anne Morrow and her famous aviator husband, Charles Lindbergh.


the-other-wife
The Other Wife
by Kathleen Irene Paterka – secret lives and a tale of bigamy pit two wives against each other.


the paris wife
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
All about Ernest Hemingway’s first wife, Elizabeth Hadley Richardson and their six-year marriage, spent mostly in Paris.


the shoemaker's pic

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana TrigianiItalian family saga of immigration, near-misses in love and brushes with greatness during the turn of the century.


The Silent Wife picThe Silent Wife by A. S. A. Harrison Suspenseful story about what’s beneath the surface of a seemingly happy marriage.


the time travelers pic
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
– unusual love story between a wife and a husband who lives in different times, made into a popular movie.


And here are more that look interesting to me:

The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman

The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay

The Traitor’s Wife by Allison Pataki

The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

The Wife by Meg Wolitzer

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman


What do you think about all these “wife” books?  Can you add to my lists?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

20 thoughts on “Books with “wife” in the title – how many have you read?

  1. This is so much fun! Yes, I’ve read most of these, including The Paris Wife and The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Aviator’s Wife and The Shoemaker’s Wife, enjoying all of these authors. The Pilot’s Wife is a great addition. In my blog post today I note one of my favorite books of 2016 is Mr. Emerson’s Wife, and highly recommend it. Happy New Year!!

  2. The Trailtor’s Wife is on my to-read list, and I’ve read The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Pilot’s Wife, and The Zookeeper’s Wife. I also have a book on my shelf called The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman. There’s also Ahab’s Wife (which I haven’t read). And according to Goodreads, I’ve also read The Kitchen God’s Wife, How To Be A Good Wife, The 19th Wife, A Reliable Wife, and The Saturday Wife. 🙂 LOL, that’s a lot of wives! What a fun post — thanks.

  3. I’m about to start shopping my memoir manuscript, Never Too Late: A 62-Year Old Goes from Wannabe to Wife. I hope you’ll add this to your collection when the book comes out. =)

  4. I recently read The Italian Wife by Kate Furnivall. It’s set in Italy in 1932, during the time of Mussolini, when people are scared and don’t know who to trust. Very enjoyable, intriguing read by an excellent author.

Tell me what you're thinking!

