Blog views and other obsessions – Facebook and the wayward herd

Source: brainsonfire.com

My Facebook feed is a mess and I don’t care anymore!  After months of trying to figure out why I wasn’t seeing posts in my Book Club Mom feed from groups I’d joined and pages I’d liked as BCM, I went into settings and clicked a bunch of options, hoping to wrangle my groups and likes back to Book Club Mom.

Image: Pixabay

Well, I rounded up the herd, but now they are grazing in my home page feed, mixed in with all my personal friend and family updates.  Pictures of cute kids, fabulous vacations, snaps of gourmet meals, fuzzy animals and the occasional political rant are in a big mish mash with book discussions, publishing announcements, book-worthy news and the occasional album of libraries around the world.

Talk about seeing it all – but I’ve given up and have accepted that these two worlds are now one.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

14 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – Facebook and the wayward herd

  1. You’re not alone – my Facebook feeds are the same. Frustrating, but I think it’s a function of having to “like” something while you’re on your personal page in order for that “like” to count on someone else’s branded page.

  2. The best reaction to Facebook is simply surrender. I have only a personal page, but my news feed page is devoted almost entirely to the posts of about four or five people (and not anyone I’m very close to) who post tons of recipes and political memes that all have the same message, in case I didn’t get it the first ten times they posted today. Also “suggested posts” which are never anything interesting. I have come to the conclusion that Facebook is going to do exactly what it wants to do, regardless of my wishes.

  3. I just read a post on “The Beauty of Words” (www.cathleentownsend.com is the link, I think) on the difference between Facebook profiles and pages which may help you if you want to check it out.

  4. I’m pleased to hear that I’m not the only one who doesn’t “get” FB. It tells me I haven’t posted in months. I’m not sure what I’ve been doing then. I need some lessons. 🙂

Tell me what you're thinking!

