Who’s That Indie Author? Teri Polen

whos-that-indie-author

Author name:  Teri Polen

Genre:  Young Adult

BookSarah

Bio:  Teri Polen reads and watches horror, sci-fi, and fantasy.  The Walking Dead, Harry Potter, and anything Marvel-related are likely to cause fangirl delirium.  She lives in Bowling Green, KY with her husband, sons, and black cat.  Sarah, a YA horror/thriller, is her first novel.  Visit her online at www.teripolen.com

Favorite thing about being a writer:  I have a couple of favorite things.  I love creating characters in my head, then see them become living, breathing people when I write – they’re real to me, anyway.  My characters are like my kids, so to know that a reader embraced them while reading their story and loved them as much as I do makes all the difficult writing days (when I’m pounding my head against the wall) worthwhile.

Biggest challenge as an indie author:  Absolutely promotion.  My book was published by an indie publisher and I’m fortunate they can provide some promo opportunities, but the majority is on me, so I’m always looking for ways to get the word out and connect with readers.

Favorite book:  That’s probably the hardest question I’ve ever been asked, because I love so many books – but I’ll have to name a couple.  As an adult who thought YA books were just for young adults, the Harry Potter series taught me otherwise and introduced me to another world (both Hogwarts and YA).  That series will forever be at the top of my list.  More recently, Victoria Schwab’s Shades of Magic series – exceptional world-building and characterization.  Her creativity astounds me and I’ve been lucky enough to meet her a few times.

Contact Information:
Website:  Books and Such
Facebook:  @TeriPolenAuthor
Twitter:  @TPolen6
Goodreads Author:  Teri Polen


Are you an indie author?  Do you want to build your indie author network? Get your name out on Who’s That Indie Author!

Email bvitelli2009@gmail.com for a bio template and other details.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Who’s That Indie Author? Teri Polen

  1. Lovely interview, Barbara and Teri. I agree with Teri that creating characters is immensely fun and I love watching them come alive. And I agree that promotion is the biggest challenge. I think that’s true for most of us. Happy Writing!

    1. Thanks, Diana! I love creating characters and get a little sad when the book’s finished and I move on to another project. But they still drop in to talk to me sometimes.

  2. Reading Sarah left me with goosebumps. Teri did a great job of creating a spooky story populated with characters you care about. Nice to see her featured here.
    What a lovely blog you have, Barbara!

  3. This is a lovely interview, Barbara! 😀 Teri, I love how you feel your characters are like your kids and can imagine the wonderful feeling when your readers become as attached to them and their adventures as you are. I just hope you didn’t hurt your head in the process!! 😀😀 As for promotion, I am in awe of anyone who travels this road and if I ever get there it will be one I start on with a great sense of trepidation. Best of luck to you. ❤️

  4. Completely agree promotion is the toughest part. Also, love HP. Oh, and characters are totally real. Nice to learn a bit more about you, Teri. And that we’re a wee bit alike. 😉 Your book is on my kindle waiting patiently… Cheers!

Tell me what you're thinking!

