Blog views and other obsessions – what happens to the blog when life gets in the way?

Source: brainsonfire.com

I didn’t believe it when I read that it might take me two weeks to recover from the flu.  I was sure that I could beat it after a few days, maybe a week.  So during that time, I put all non-essential activities on hold.  My head was in a fog.  I didn’t feel like reading.  I couldn’t tolerate a computer screen or a phone.  Social media roared on without me.  And to my horror, I developed a disinterest in blogging.  My obsessive need to check my stats, reach out and comment sat alone and ignored on a distant shelf.

Bloggers have a funny relationship with their real life and their blog life.  We all know that the real life takes priority, but we need the other part too, so our feet are in both worlds.  And getting the flu, while temporarily dramatic, is a blip in the routine.  People have much bigger problems.

It has taken the full two weeks, but the fever is gone and the fog is lifting.  So watch out, because I’m feeling like my old self again.  I want to know all your news and tell you mine!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

30 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – what happens to the blog when life gets in the way?

  1. Oh boy, can I ever relate. I got a horrible flu bug last year in April. It took me 3 weeks to recover. Like you, the symptoms caused me to lose interest in everything. I love to blog, but didn’t even check in. I know how miserable that can be. Glad to know you’re on the mend. Stay well.

  2. Welcome back and so glad you are all better! 😀 Take it easy returning to the full flow of blogging, let the fog ease away…after two weeks away in Sweden over Easter I’m only slowly settling into everyday life.

  3. Wow, Barbara, that must have been one awful dose of the flu you caught! Happy to hear you’re feeling more like your old self again. It’s good to see you back blogging.

    I’ve been taking a little time off myself, due to spending Easter in town with my grandkids. We have to remember to pause now and then to take care of what is most important in our lives. 🙂

  4. Happy to hear you’re feeling better. 🙂 It is a difficult thing, as you say, to have our feet in both “worlds”. I wholeheartedly agree that real life takes priority.

  5. Happy you are recovering. Yes, it’s strange when the flu hits us and all of our interests become blurry and foggy and not important. But your blogging community missed you! 💚

  6. So glad you’re better! But I do know what you mean about it being hard to take too long a break from blogging. It’s not as important as our “real life,” but it does become a part of us, doesn’t it?

Tell me what you're thinking!

