Books about sisters – sisterhood explained!

Image: Pixabay

There’s no shortage of books about the intense dynamics between sisters.  Rivalries, secrets, love and sacrifice make for great stories.  Check out these Book Club Mom reviews of sister books.  Can you add any to the list?



Brooklyn
by Colm Tóibín – Eilis Lacey’s older sister Rose understands the small-town limits of Enniscorthy, Ireland. It may be too late for Rose, but Eilis has a chance for a better life in America.


     
Calmer Girls
and Calmer Secrets by Jennifer Kelland Perry – rivalries and deep secrets can break the bond, but understanding and forgiveness can make it stronger



Gone With the Wind
by Margaret Mitchell – not just about slavery and the Civil War, GWTW is a classic story of how Scarlett O’Hara shamelessly manipulates her sisters and sister-in-law.



In the Woods
by Tana French – three sisters compete for their parents’ attention.  What happens when one turns up dead?



Miss Emily
by Nuala O’Connor – biographical novel about Emily Dickinson, her sisters and Emily’s young Irish maid



Silver Sparrow
by Tayari Jones – story about a man with two families – two wives and two daughters. Written first from the voice of the “secret” daughter, Dana, and later by her unknowing half-sister, Chaurisse.



Tell the Wolves I’m Home
by Carol Rifka Brunt – story about a family that is coping with AIDS and the strain between sisters when new relationships take over



The Time Between
by Karen White – Are sisters “forever” or can secrets ruin everything?  A story about two sets of sisters whose lives are divided by tragedy and broken dreams.



The Weird Sisters
by Eleanor Brown – upbeat story about three sisters who struggle with difficult problems and face turning-points in their lives



We Hear the Dead
by Dianne K. Salerni – a very readable and interesting recounting of Maggie, Kate and Leah Fox, three sisters who claimed to be able to communicate with the dead


Enjoyed immensely, before the blog:

Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory


This sister book is on my TBR shelf:

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah


What are your favorite sister books?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

11 thoughts on “Books about sisters – sisterhood explained!

  1. One book featuring sisters I’ve had on my list for a long time is “The Murderer’s Daughters.” In fact, I think I own it, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Maybe this will give me the nudge I need. I’ve heard it’s really good, but the heavy subject matter has made me keep pushing it off.

  2. What an interesting theme and collection, Barbara. My mind’s gone blank. All I can come up with is Little Women and Wuthering Heights; and for kids, The Bobbsey Twins springs to mind for some reason. I haven’t thought of it for half a century, I’m sure!

  3. Snap! 😀 I wrote on my last post about the recent proliferation of Sister books on sale at the moment and without trying to I had bought three for my holiday. These were all psychological thrillers, to one degree or another: The YA ‘The Lost and The Found’, then ‘Sometimes I lie’ and finally ‘Sister Sister’. As young, I loved Little Women and recently The Other Boleyn Girl. At the moment I’m reading Phillippa Gregory’s ‘Wideacre’ – her style but wow, the story is extreme! Can’t decide yet if I like it or hate it!

  4. What an honour to have my novels included on this fine list! Thank you, Barbara, and also thanks for a few more reading suggestions. One of the books on my to-read list is The Good Sister by Chelsea Bolan, a recent winner of the HarperCollins/UBC Prize for Best New Fiction.

Tell me what you're thinking!

