Author interviews – what would you ask?

    

               

Have you ever imagined you were in a room with one of your favorite authors? What would you ask? Talking to writers is so fun that that I’ve conducted many interviews in my head. How great to be able to ask about their books, their characters, their research and methods and maybe one or two off-topic questions!

If you could ask these famous authors one question, what would it be?  Here’s what I’d like to know:

Truman Capote:  Were you flattered that Harper Lee made you a character in To Kill a Mockingbird?

F. Scott Fitzgerald: Why did Hemingway dislike Zelda so much?

Ernest Hemingway:  Was Hadley Richardson your favorite wife?

Harper Lee:  Did you feel betrayed by the publication of Go Set a Watchman?

Margaret Mitchell:  You described yourself once as an “unscrupulous flirt” and you were engaged to five different men.  Were you a little bit like Scarlett O’Hara?

Ayn Rand:  Why did you quit writing fiction after Atlas Shrugged?

Herman WoukYoungblood Hawke is my number one favorite book.  Were you as disappointed in the movie as I was?

Although I never had the chance to ask those questions, I’ve done a few author interviews for my blog. And now I’m preparing questions for a new interview. Soon I’ll be talking with Jordanna Brodsky, author of the Olympus Bound trilogy, a great new mythology series.  Check out my reviews of The Immortals and Winter of the Gods.


And if you like reading author interviews, take a look at these from the archives:

Heather Walsh, Dented Cans and The Drake Equation 12/28/13
Dianne Salerni, We Hear the Dead, The Caged Graves and The Eighth Day Triology 12/31/13
Susanna Daniel, Stiltsville and Sea Creatures 2/26/14
Tracy Ewens, Catalina Kiss, Premier 4/8/14
Bill Dedman, Empty Mansions 5/21/14
Kristina McMorris, The Pieces We Keep 6/18/14
Tracy Ewens  10/27/14
Lawrence H. Levy, Second Street Station and Brooklyn on Fire 10/12/15

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

19 thoughts on “Author interviews – what would you ask?

    1. Haha thanks – nothing too serious for most but a couple I’ve just been curious about. If I could ask Hemingway a second question I would ask him how he could have forgotten about a trunk full of papers stored in a Paris hotel – for over 20 years! Thanks for reading and commenting, Cathy!

  1. Great questions. 🙂 I can’t think of any off the top of my head but really enjoyed this. I’ve often thought about what I’d say (or ask) if I could meet up with one of these authors.

  2. I enjoyed reading your interview questions, Barbara. They raised many other questions as well. What great conversation starters.

    1. Haha! Thanks Norah – I’m not sure Hemingway would want to talk about Zelda, but I’ve always been a little obsessed with the Lost Generation and the relationships between all the writers, poets and artists. Thanks for stopping by!

Tell me what you're thinking!

