Five books in my near future – what about you?

May has been busy and I’m looking forward to more reading time in June. I usually store the books I’ve already read on my bookshelf and put the new ones in a pile next to the kitchen phone. Here’s what’s on top of my pile!



The Swans of Fifth Avenue
by Melanie Benjamin – My mom just finished this one and passed it along to me. Truman Capote was such an interesting person. I want to read this historical novel about him and the movers in high society New York, one of my favorite subjects!


A Long Way Gone – Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ismael Beah – My college son read this at school and when he brought it home this month, it immediately caught my eye. It’s the story of a boy fighter in the Sierra Leone and how he was rescued from this violent life.


The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly – This one’s up next for my Whodunits book club at my library job. Also a popular movie starring Matthew McConaughey. I’m sure I’ll check out the movie after I read the book!



When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi – This neurosurgeon author confronts his devastating diagnosis with stage IV lung cancer and asks what makes life worth living in the face of death.



My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry
by Swedish author Fredrik Backman – I’m reading this one for my local book club. Backman also wrote the very popular A Man Called Ove and Britt-Marie Was Here. I don’t usually jump on the popular book bandwagon but if I like this one I’ll read A Man Called Ove.


These books will keep me busy! Do you have a bookshelf system? What books are on top of your pile?

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

26 thoughts on “Five books in my near future – what about you?

  1. Lincoln Lawyer is right at the top of books I’ve read and loved. What a clever idea Connelly delivered in such a believable way. And A Long Way Gone–I just ordered that from my library. I fear it will make me sad.

  2. I’m waiting on the newest Jussi Adler-Olsen Nordic thriller from the library. It’s apparently on its way, so that’s next up for me. In the meantime, I have so many books on my Kindle waiting for me to open them. Sigh.

    1. Hi Carrie, Oh that sounds good. I like the whole Nordic setting. If you have time maybe you could do a “What’s That Book” for me! I know what you mean about the Kindle. I have many waiting for me too. Happy reading!

    1. Hi Cleo – I am really fascinated by him. First he’s Harper Lee’s childhood playmate. Then he writes Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Then he writes In Cold Blood. And in the middle of it he’s part of the New York set. I know nothing about him as a socialite. You should watch some of his guest appearances on Dick Cavett, Johnny Carson and with Barbara Walters. I think I’m going to read When Breath Becomes Air first, then Swans, so I’ll let you know when I do. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. While I tired of Connelly, I do think The Lincoln Lawyer is his best book. It was memorable.

  4. I know where I’ll be going when I run out of reading ideas – your blog! 🙂
    Right now I’m reading All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr with my online book club, and right after that is The Almost Archer Sisters by Lisa Gabrielle with my local book club.

  5. These look like great reads! I had mixed feelings about A Man Called Ove so I look forward to hearing your thoughts on My Grandmother. I have read A Long Way Gone and it is intense. Good but intense.

  6. I’ll love to know what you think of Frederik Backman’s book – I’ve read this and most of his others. ‘A long way gone’ sounds like a book I’d want to read and it’s being added to my list! At the moment I’m running three TBR lists as well as have a collection of books to read. I’m starting my most recent purchase today which I bought following a review in the Sunday paper. It’s called ‘Patient H69 The Story of My Second Sight’ by Vanessa Potter who in three days went from a high-flying career and mother to being blind and with all her sense of touch completely gone.The book follows her slow recovery as doctors and patient are both working blind, the former metaphorically.

    1. I think I’m going to read My Grandmother… next. My local book club moved up the date, so I’ll need to get to it soon. I get a little stressed out if I have too many books on my list, but usually I just plod my way through. I have to read The Lincoln Lawyer for work, but I know I’m going to like that one too, so it’s all good. Your Patient H69 book sounds very interesting – is that a memoir? Thanks for stopping by, Annika!

      1. The Lincoln Lawyer looks good – reminds me a bit of Better Call Saul! Michael Connelly is a great writer with pace and intensity in his books. Yes, Patient H69 is written by the woman who suffered the illness so it’s about this and her recovery…

      2. Hi Annika! My kids love Better Call Saul and they also thought The Lincoln Lawyer was a great movie. I’ll be starting that book today. I’ll have to add Patient H69 to my list. I’m doing a reading challenge for work and I know I’ll be able to fit that onto my BINGO board! Have a great day!

  7. Be sure to have lots of tissues close by when you read “When Breath Becomes Air.” Also if you’re into podcasts, his widow Lucy was just interviewed on our local NPR station, KQED. It was a great interview.

    1. Hi Audrey – thanks for stopping by and commenting! I’ll check out her interview. I enjoyed the book very much. His thinking was on such a higher level than mine – it was impressive how earnest he was in pursuing his career.

Tell me what you're thinking!

