Summer Reading Challenge – Build a Better World 2017

It’s time to plan my summer reading list and, like last year, I’m all signed up for our library’s Adult Summer Reading Challenge. This year, it’s a BINGO board. I’m hoping to fill in all of the squares so I can win some prizes. I already have my eye on a couple of the baskets on display!

One of the challenges is to listen to an audio book. I’ve never done that so I will be forced to try something new. It gets busy at my house in the summer and I’m hoping I won’t fall behind. How do you feel about summer reading challenges? Do they stress you out or do they motivate you?


Look for this logo on my posts and follow along with my challenge.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

14 thoughts on “Summer Reading Challenge – Build a Better World 2017

  1. What a great idea, which I may borrow. My current challenge is reading every Man Booker prize winner. I have a loooonnnngggg way to go in that I have only read 5 books so far. For Bingo Board #3 challenge I recommend “When the Emperor was Divine” by Julie Otsuka. This exquisitely written book tells of a Japanese family who are sent to an internment camp at the onset of WWII. I read the book in an afternoon and did not want it to end. Happy Reading!!

  2. I’ve never done a summer reading challenge. In fact, other than the Goodreads challenge (which is really just a fun way to see how many books you’ve read), I don’t do any book challenges. I just read what I want when I can. 🙂

  3. I haven’t joined in with one of these challenges, but I really enjoy reading other people’s. 🙂 Hope you have a great time.

  4. I’m looking forward to reading further about what books you read this summer! I’m never stressed about reading – it DE-stresses me! However, I’d like to listen to an Audio book, it’s just that I find it very distracting and I don’t get the nuances the same way I do when I read a book with my eyes.

    P.S. I just tried to read Lilac Girls. I never stop a book half way, but I did with this one. Found it too disturbing (the Nazi doctor chapters…)

  5. We’ve got that same theme and bingo board going at our library. Thanks for the reminder that I should be signing up. So many great audio books out there, hope you find a good one to get you hooked!

  6. Good luck with your reading challenge! I love audiobooks. I listen to them when I am driving, having breakfast or lunch (if alone) and when getting dressed in the mornings. I have “read” some fabulous books this way, many more than I otherwise would. I am happy to recommend some titles if there is a particular genre you are interested in that I may have listened to. At the moment I am listening to The Great Penguin Rescue by Dyan deNapoli. It is fabulous.

    1. Thanks Norah – I am starting to think about an audio selection- I guess I will listen while I’m running, though I don’t know if that means I should listen to something light or not. Maybe if it’s something gripping I won’t think about how tired I am!

  7. This looks like such fun. Last summer, in addition to their usual reading program, my library did a challenge in which you had to read a book from each continent (excluding Antartica). It was a great way to force myself to read a few different things.

Tell me what you're thinking!

