“The Necklace” by Guy de Maupassant

Celebrating 4 years of blogging – from the early archives. I have always enjoyed short fiction and “The Necklace” by Guy de Maupassant is a classic that includes my favorite storytelling technique – the ironic twist at the finish!

Book Club Mom

The Necklace pic

“The Necklace”
by
Guy de Maupassant

Rating:
5 book marks

I read this short story long ago.  Then my kids read it (not too long ago).  And because I can’t resist re-reading things my kids bring home, I’ve read it again.  I love short stories because of their economy of words and I especially enjoy how many of them end with the ironic twist that keeps you thinking long after you’ve finished reading.

“The Necklace,” by Guy de Maupassant is a perfect example of this style.  It’s the story of Mathilde Loisel, a young and beautiful, but common French woman, married to a simple clerk.  Believing she deserves better and feeling bitter about her circumstances, she suffers in her daily life.  When her husband brings home an invitation to a palace ball, Mathilde’s true character emerges.  Thinking she would be excited to go, her husband quickly discovers that his efforts to get the…

View original post 201 more words

3 thoughts on ““The Necklace” by Guy de Maupassant

Tell me what you're thinking!

