Blog views and other obsessions – revisiting the summer slump

Image: brainsonfire.com

What is it about summer that makes blog views drop? Is everyone on fabulous vacations, too busy having fun and living a real life to read blogs? Or are they consciously escaping from the internet? I approve of both of those, by the way, because I’m not just a blogger, I’m a person with a life who has to balance my virtual time with reality.

I don’t think these vacationers plan to catch up on my blog! Image: Pixabay

But from a blogger’s view, summer is the time when I hope readers will curl up with their devices and check out all the posts they might have missed. And because I’m a book blogger, I’m hoping they will read my reviews so they can decide which books to put in their beach totes.

My stats page looks a little like this right now. Image: Pixabay

Because I’m a little obsessed with views, I can’t stay away from my stats page. Views, Visitors, Likes and Comments – how can you not want to know? And how can you not be disappointed to see the numbers drop in the summer?

If you can’t stay away from the stats page, hoping your views will soar, set more realistic summertime goals. Don’t just compare to last month, or aim for an unreachable number. Are your views up from last summer? Are you getting more likes and comments than last summer?

The truth is, blog traffic depends on what you put into your blog, all year long. You can’t entirely avoid the summer slump, but you can boost your views by staying active. Don’t be a passive blogger, just posting and hoping someone will find you. Jump in to like, share and comment on blogs and on other social media sites. Twitter and Facebook are two good places to go. You can read a book about how to do it, or you can experiment and see what works for you. You have to feed that blogging machine to keep it happy and keep your views up. And you have to do something else too:

Accept that people have lives outside the internet (that’s a good thing) and that views will sink a little in the summer. Things will pick up in the fall. They always do. Remember, blogging should be fun, even if it’s linked to your professional life. Relax and accept the ups and downs.

Relax – the future is bright! Image: Pixabay

I’ve been writing about my obsession with blogging for a while now. Take a look at some of my earlier posts:

Facebook and the wayward herd 3/22/17
Aging out? 10/27/16
Back up that blog! 11/25/16

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

16 thoughts on “Blog views and other obsessions – revisiting the summer slump

    1. Hi Chatter Master! Thanks for reading and commenting. I have always been the type who keeps records of things, so these stats are irresistible for me. I used to keep a detailed record of baby feedings and naptimes when my kids were first born, especially my first. I’m destined to keep track of something! Happy blogging to you!

    1. Yes, I suppose it’s better not to look, but I think I’m wired to check out the stats! I don’t stress when they are down, though, despite my admitted obsession. They’re usually down when my life gets really busy and that comes first. Thanks for reading and commenting, Jill!

  1. For me it’s a combination of summer, life, and the inability to keep up with the sheer number of blog posts out there. I stop by the sites I follow when I can. Meanwhile my own blog sits neglected and collecting dust!

    1. Yes, keeping up can be a challenge. I read other blogs every few days – I enjoy that because I find it to be very relaxing and fun, but I can’t do it every day. Thanks for reading, Carrie!

  2. You are so right; blogging can’t be a one-way street. Liking, sharing, commenting, etc., are all part of it. But I confess that I no more enjoy looking at my stats than I like standing on the scales 🙂

  3. The same thing tends to happen in December. But, you’ve hit the nail on the head by saying don’t stress about it and to keep blogging fun. If it’s no longer fun, then it’s time to make changes to your blogging habits or to even think about giving it up. Stats are great for checking out which of your blog posts get the most hits and comments (so you can write and publish more posts like that), but we should not take them seriously and get stressed out by then. Just as in life, they come with their ups and downs. Keep on enjoying Blogging.

    1. You’re so right Hugh. I truly enjoy the time I put into blogging and connecting so even when the views are down, I’m always having fun! Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. This post is great! I’ve also noticed that blog views tend to decrease during the summer. I fell like it’s mostly attributed to people wanting to do more outdoorsy things while also being on vacation. I agree with you on it can’t be a one-way street thing. It’s so important to network and socialize! Twitter is one of my favorite platforms to reach out to people on. I love connecting with other bloggers, readers, and authors on there. Better yet, you can do it from the comfort of your own home. 🙂

    Lauren @ Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

    1. I agree that people tend to find more interesting things to do than read blogs in the summer. I don’t stress even though I enjoy good stats! Thanks for reading and commenting, Lauren. Happy blogging!

Tell me what you're thinking!

