We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars
by
E. Lockhart

Rating:

Something bad happens during Cadence Eastman’s fifteenth summer on the family’s private island off Martha’s Vineyard. Cady, her cousins Johnny and Mirren and their friend Gat were inseparable and fearless that summer and they would risk everything to break free from the oppressive, greedy and narrow minded Sinclair family pressures.

After an unexplained accident, Cady struggles to remember the events that sent her to the hospital and left her with debilitating migraines. Cady tells us what she can: “I used to be strong, but now I am weak. I used to be pretty, but now I look sick.” She wants to know, especially about Gat, but her family stays quiet and keeps her away from Beechwood Island. Everything is different when she returns for her seventeenth summer, but who will help her remember why?

Who can resist a book about three generations of a wealthy New England family, inseparable friends (nicknamed the Liars), rivalries and teenage love? E. Lockhart does a great job setting the scene:  money, interesting family drama and good looking people with strong chins spending their summers on an idyllic private island. Keeping appearances and hiding weakness are Sinclair rules and the reader soon sees that this kind of lying runs in the family. That’s enough for me, but The Liars is much bigger and is full of mystery and suspense. Lockhart leads the reader through a series of jumps between present and past, filling in details, but leaving a shocking discovery to the final pages.

This is a terrific Young Adult story about how the mysterious events of one summer force an entire family through painful changes that just may bring them closer. I recommend The Liars to readers who like suspenseful family dramas.

I read We Were Liars as part of my Build a Better World Summer Reading Challenge to read a book suggested by a friend.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

5 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

    1. Hi Lisa – I enjoyed the story and yes, Gat is an unusual name but I don’t think I’m revealing too much to say he’s an outsider, so the name choice makes sense. Thanks for stopping by!

    1. I was a little frustrated with the story in the beginning because it seemed so “Kennedy” but I changed my opinion at the end because I was not expecting how it finished and I was pleased with the way the author revealed the liar theme. I don’t try to guess where a book is going while I’m reading it because I enjoy it much more when I go along for the ride. I wonder if I could have predicted the finish if I’d tried. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Tell me what you're thinking!

