BC Mom’s Author Update: Oskar’s Quest by Annika Perry

Welcome to Book Club Mom’s Author Update. Open to all authors who want to share news with readers. I recently caught up with Annika Perry, who has news about her new children’s book, Oskar’s Quest. Here’s what Annika has to say:


The year has started with a flourish of activity for me as I’ve published my first children’s book, Oskar’s Quest. I am still on an emotional high from the joy of seeing the book in print, reading the wonderful reviews and from the kind opportunities to promote the book.

Originally a story I created for my son, I was overjoyed to release it as a book after a year of rewrites / edits and working with a gifted illustrator. Oskar’s Quest acknowledges the fear that we all feel through the beautiful bird Oskar who is afraid of adventures yet one day finds himself on a mysterious island that needs his help!

As one reviewer writes: “Annika Perry captures the importance of caring for others, overcoming fears and making new friends. Young children are sure to relate as a fearful Oskar steps out of his comfort zone and embarks on a perilous journey in an effort to save a beautiful songbird and return happiness to an island where he’s been stranded during a fierce storm.”

One further exciting development this year has been the translation of Oskar’s Quest into German. As a fluent(ish) speaker I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with the translator and we have now become firm friends.

Oskar’s Abenteuer was released this month, both in print and Kindle format, and it’s amazing to have two language versions out on sale of my children’s book.  A Swedish version will soon be ready for release … and there are requests for one in Spanish. Who knows!?

After a busy two months promoting online I am now looking forward to visiting schools and library events in the area … bringing Oskar and the story of his Quest directly to the intended audience, the children!

Annika Perry is a full-time writer, blogger and book reviewer. She was born in Gothenburg, Sweden and raised near Ilkley, West Yorkshire. The Storyteller Speaks, a collection of short stories, flash fiction and poetry, was her debut book. Oskar’s Quest, a beautifully illustrated and enchanting children’s story, is her second published book. Annika Perry lives with her family in a small village in North Essex, England.

Website and social media links:
WordPress blog:  Annika Perry’s Writing Blog
Author Website:  annika-perry-author.com
Twitter: @AnnikaPerry68
Goodreads Author:  Annika Perry
Amazon Author Page: Annika Perry
LinkedIn: Annika Perry Author


For information about Book Club Mom’s Author Update,
email bvitelli2009@gmail.com.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

36 thoughts on “BC Mom’s Author Update: Oskar’s Quest by Annika Perry

  1. Barbara, it is great seeing Annika showcased on your blog. I am a fan of her writing and her positive
    personality.
    I have added the German version to my coklection. Yes, I do speak German.

    With happy wishes for you both

    miriam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Miriam, bless! 😀 Thank you so much for your warm comment and I very much appreciate your interest in the Oskar’s Abenteuer! I’d love to know your thoughts on the German version of the book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations, Annika. What joy to read that you published you first children’s book, Oskar’s Quest., and are “still on an emotional high from the joy of seeing the book in print, reading the wonderful reviews and from the kind opportunities to promote the book.” The book looks beautifully illustrated.

    Writing is book is HARD, though gratifying, and I can identify with so many of your emotions. Reading good reviews keeps the momentum going, as I have experienced. My husband and I have talked about publishing a children’s story book.

    Again, CONGRATULATIONS, Annika, and thank you, Barbara, for featuring her here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marian, what a wonderful idea to work with your husband on creating and publishing a children’s book … have you written a draft yet? Would one be the illustrator? An exciting potential project!😀 I hope it comes to fruition.

      You’re right, writing and publishing encompass the whole diverse range of emotions … many often within an hour of each other!😀 I don’t know if you saw my last post with photos of a young reader in Canada enjoying the book … that is why I write, why we write! Incredibly rewarding!

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment, Marian and lovely to ‘chat’ about children’s books and writing! Take care. xx

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Marian – thank you for your thoughtful response and for congratulating Annika. I agree, Oskar’s Quest has a beautiful cover. You can certainly attest to the hard work in writing and promoting a book. You have clever and interesting marketing ideas. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Thanks for promoting Annika’s wonderful children’s book here, Barbara. Now translated in German. What a feat! Annika – so many congrats to you. I’ve got to tell you, I’m still exhausted from publishing Molly Finds Her Purr last fall and reading it to schools/making presentations at writing groups, etc. I kind of went into hiding for a while. We writers make such a difference by urging each other along, and understanding the toll publishing takes. I’m so proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahhh … thank you so much, Pam! 😀 I’ve been in awe of all your promotional work around Molly Finds Her Purr – inspiring! How wonderful to have visited so many schools and given so many readings. That was my plan for Spring as I concentrated on online promotion and working on the translation during this winter. I hope you’re feeling revitalised after your break.

      Wishing both you and Barbara a relaxing weekend, finding inner peace in these troubled days. With much love, Annika xx ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Taking a month off from writing/blogging did the trick. I’m back feeling creatively strong. But my workshops on writing/publishing children’s books may all be canceled. Troubling times, indeed.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I love how Annika is enjoying this new book. And getting it translated is quite an undertaking as well as a very cool step. The libraries here are closed, but I hope that Annika’s plans to visit libraries isn’t too far away. Thanks Barb for sharing Annika’s update. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome. Isn’t the cover to Oskar’s Quest beautiful? Our libraries are all closed at least through April. We will just have to wait it out – since I work in a library I can tell you we enjoy interacting with authors! Thanks for the visit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.