Scary Story Spotlight: I Remember You: A Ghost Story by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

My blogging friend Cathy over at 746 Books wrote this post about I Remember You: A Ghost Story by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir. First published in 2012, it is the Winner of the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award.

Here’s the book blurb:

“In an isolated village in the Icelandic Westfjords, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house. But soon, they realize they are not as alone as they thought. Something wants them to leave, and it’s making its presence felt. Meanwhile, in a town across the fjord, a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son. When the two stories collide, the terrifying truth is uncovered.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist, this horrifying thriller, partly based on a true story, is the scariest novel yet from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has taken the international crime fiction world by storm.”

Here’s what Cathy says,

In I Remember You, (Sigurdardóttir) takes inspiration from the heritage of Icelandic literature, funneling ancient ghost stories into an exploration of modern Icelandic society, exploring social care, financial upheaval and modern relationships, all tied up in a satisfying detective yarn.

Do you know about Yrsa Sigurdardóttir? In addition to writing international bestsellers, she is director of one of Iceland’s largest engineering firms. Several of her books are currently in film production.

What scary books or stories are your favorites? I checked out a copy of I Remember You from the library and I hope to read it before Halloween.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

31 thoughts on “Scary Story Spotlight: I Remember You: A Ghost Story by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

    1. You’re welcome, Cathy! I hope I have the time to read I Remember You. I’m in the mood to read it, but I have to read a book for work, first (And Then There Were None).

  1. Thanks for the intro, Barbara. What a great setting. Derek has always wanted to take a trip to Iceland. As for scary books, you know me, with the day job, I need warm and fuzzy. 🙂

    1. Neither have I. Although I did read an excellent book that takes place in Iceland. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. The author lives in Australia, though. Thank you for the visit!

  2. My daughter and son-in-law took a vacation in Iceland while I babysat my older granddaughter a couple of years ago. The Iceland setting of the book interests me. Thank you for sharing, Barbara.

    1. Hi Miriam – me too! I doubt I will ever travel there, though. I don’t think it’s as cold there as you would think, by the name. Thank you for stopping by. I got your email and will schedule your post soon!

      1. The photos they sent me didn’t look as cold. They went to many hot springs. I would love to go to some hot spring. They went to some smaller and free ones though. It’s good to hear your got my email. I’ll wait to hear from you.

  3. This book sounds fantastic! I have never heard of Sigurdardottir. I’ll have to keep an eye out for her stories. I like scary books to begin with, so it’s hard to pick favorites. For a popular, older book I’ll go with The Exorcist. For a contemporary book I’ll go with The Taxidermist’s Lover by Polly Hall or The Boatman’s Daughter by Andy Davidson. But really, SOOOO many good, scary books out there!

    1. OMG I’m so glad to see these titles. I’m doing a virtual book chat for work this month: Scary Stories and Books. I’ll be visiting your blog for ideas. Thank you for the visit, Priscilla – I thought of you when I saw this book!

  4. This books sounds interesting, especially since it’s partly based on a true story. I have such fond memories of my time in Iceland. I’d love to give this a read. Thanks for sharing. Linda

Tell me what you're thinking!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s