Scary Story Spotlight: I Remember You: A Ghost Story by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir

My blogging friend Cathy over at 746 Books wrote this post about I Remember You: A Ghost Story by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir. First published in 2012, it is the Winner of the Icelandic Crime Fiction Award.

Here’s the book blurb:

“In an isolated village in the Icelandic Westfjords, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house. But soon, they realize they are not as alone as they thought. Something wants them to leave, and it’s making its presence felt. Meanwhile, in a town across the fjord, a young doctor investigating the suicide of an elderly woman discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son. When the two stories collide, the terrifying truth is uncovered.

In the vein of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist, this horrifying thriller, partly based on a true story, is the scariest novel yet from Yrsa Sigurdardóttir, who has taken the international crime fiction world by storm.”

Here’s what Cathy says,

In I Remember You, (Sigurdardóttir) takes inspiration from the heritage of Icelandic literature, funneling ancient ghost stories into an exploration of modern Icelandic society, exploring social care, financial upheaval and modern relationships, all tied up in a satisfying detective yarn.

Do you know about Yrsa Sigurdardóttir? In addition to writing international bestsellers, she is director of one of Iceland’s largest engineering firms. Several of her books are currently in film production.

What scary books or stories are your favorites? I checked out a copy of I Remember You from the library and I hope to read it before Halloween.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!