Book Review: The Measure by Nikki Erlick

The Measure
by
Nikki Erlick

I’ve been struggling with what to say about this super-hyped-up book that forces its characters to either confront their mortality or ignore it. Set in New York in present day, it begins when a mysterious box appears at the door of every living person in the world and inside the box is a string that shows the length of each person’s life. And every day, those who turn twenty-two receive a box with a string inside. I thought this was a great concept and enjoyed the inevitable problems that resulted, especially at the beginning. Erlick’s characters are mostly young professionals who seemingly have their lives in front of them, but of course, some don’t. How do you plan your life when your partner is a “short-stringer” and you have decades ahead of you? Short-stringers must decide what to do with their lives, but long-stringers must contemplate losing people they love. Some with only a couple years left become angry and violent.

I liked seeing how Erlick’s characters make sense of a world in which everyone knows exactly how long they will live, unless they choose to not look. The strings bring up many interesting ideas about purpose, risk, faith and fate. As the U.S. and governments around the world come up with policies, it’s not long before the strings become political. Is your string length anyone else’s business? Many say yes.

I read this book eagerly because I wanted to know how the characters would deal, but about half-way through, the story becomes heavy with political, social and personal messages. There’s nothing subtle about it, nothing left to contemplate and interpret, it’s just so plain and obvious. I can’t argue with the idea of living your life to its fullest. Carpe diem has been around since 23 BCE (Before the Common Era). And no one wants the government to force you to disclose your string length. And no one wants a president who supports that. I think the author wanted to find a way to express her political opinions and worked the string theory to symbolize these ideas. While some of the author’s characters initially struggle, in the end, they make brave and noble decisions.

So, personal taste, obviously, but I would have preferred more developed characters, much less message and maybe an explanation of the boxes’ origins. Sometimes I think popular authors feel like they have to hammer home a message because they don’t think we’ll get it otherwise. I’m giving it 3.5 stars because I thought it started out well and the idea is interesting.

Thanks for visiting—come back soon!

22 thoughts on “Book Review: The Measure by Nikki Erlick

  1. I agree, interesting idea…not sure it’s my kind of book. I’m currently going through a list of award nominees. At the moment I’m reading The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates. It’s a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Alethea – Ah yes, I’ve been wanting to read one of his books. My work friend read Between the World and Me and recommended it. Thanks for telling me about this one. Hope you are doing well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It appears Erlick’s characters are trying to make sense of the world while the author imagines how they can make connections (in a novel way ). However, when author’s try to foist an agenda on their readers, I shy away. . . just as you did. Thanks for vetting this book, Barbara! I’m not sure the whimsical cover matches the book’s message.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marian – I tried to make sense of the cover. I don’t know how the flowers fit into the story, except for the string tying them together. The fact that some of the leaves are black – I guess that symbolizes death, but honestly, you’re right, it’s just an eye-catching cover to get you interested. Also, I prefer to be able to think about what a book’s message might be, not have it be so obvious, like a school lesson. Still, the concept was a good one and that’s what kept me reading. Thanks so much for stopping by to read and comment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Noelle, yes, it was defintely an interesting concept and that’s what drew me in. As I got into it, however, it felt more like a lesson than good fiction. Of course, as I said, just my opinion and I’m glad I read it nevertheless. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lynette – when you think of the really great books that have a message, you’re so engrossed in the story and the characters that it’s just part of the book, not the only thing. I’m thinking of books like For Whom the Bell Tolls and The Grapes of Wrath. With those, there’s so much to think about while you’re reading and after. Here, it was different and I guess that’s what made it fall short for me. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m going to have to bookmark this review and come back to it — my book group will be reading this one later in the year, and I don’t want to know anything about it in advance! But, I’m glad to see from your stars that it was a decent read!

    Like

  4. Hi Barbara, this is an interesting idea. I like the concept behind it with the strings. Some authors have marvelous ideas and dystopian settings but the plot just becomes thin or plain ridiculous. It is a pity. I feel like this about Dave Eggers The Circle. It started off so well and now its become a bit stupid.

    Like

Comments are closed.