Books with “wife” in the title – this list keeps growing!

How many books are there with “wife” in the title? The answer is many, many many! Here’s an updated version of a post I wrote in 2016. Since then, I’ve read more “wife” books. And today, I went down the rabbit hole to add more to the TBR. There’s something intriguing about books like this, like you’re getting an inside look into a story.

Here are the “wife” books I’ve reviewed. I apologize for a couple of the short reviews. They’re from early times in my blogging life when I was still figuring things out:


the aviator's pic

The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin – historical fiction about the public and private lives of Anne Morrow and her famous aviator husband, Charles Lindbergh. I really liked this book. Melanie Benjamin takes on a well-known subject and fills in the gaps by letting the reader imagine how Morrow felt during her early marriage and later when Charles left her and their five children alone for long stretches. 4 stars


The Banker’s Wife by Cristina Alger – When a private plane disappears over the Swiss Alps and reports of a wreckage follow, Annabel Werner must now accept that her husband Matthew is dead. I enjoyed the fast-paced tension of this intriguing story, which gives readers an imaginative glimpse into the lives of the ridiculously wealthy. Plot lines are nicely tied together, with several interesting clues and finish with a satisfying conclusion and a couple of surprises. This is the perfect book for readers who enjoy stories about the glamour of high living, fashion, expensive art and sophisticated characters.  3.5 stars.


My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing – In this debut thriller/dark humor novel, a picture-perfect marriage has shocking secrets beneath its shiny facade. But Millicent and her husband play a secret deadly game. And when the stakes and pressure rise, they take greater risks to keep their secret hidden, until the dynamics of their marriage betray them. This is a good book for readers who like thrillers and dark humor. 4 stars


the-other-wife

The Other Wife by Kathleen Irene Paterka – secret lives and a tale of bigamy pit two wives against each other. This is the kind of book that you pick up, read for fun, and move on. Put your analytical mind on the shelf and enjoy the escape! 3 stars


the paris wife

The Paris Wife by Paula McLainI never knew about Ernest Hemingway’s wives and was very interested in learning about his first wife, Elizabeth Hadley Richardson and their six-year marriage, spent mostly in Paris, where they immersed themselves in the world of the Lost Generation and mingled with famous writers, poets and artists. 4 stars


The Perfect Wife by Blake Pierce – This is a short and fast-paced thriller about a young couple on the rise, the author’s debut in a series, in which Pierce’s characters are just coming to life. Although characters are not fully developed and the plot line is wild and unbelievable, the story moves well and is a solid 3-star read.


The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford – Dana Catrell isn’t sure what happened at Celia Steinhauser’s house that afternoon. The only thing she knows is that her neighbor is dead. As she tries to piece together the events, Dana vaguely remembers an argument after a lot of drinks. Alcohol isn’t the only reason Dana can’t remember, however. She’s on a manic bipolar disorder climb and headed for a crash. 3.5 stars


Sea Wife by Amity Gaige – What would you do if your spouse asked you to pick up and embark on a year-long sailing trip in Panama? Michael Partlow had been feeling the itch to get away from suburban life in Connecticut. Now it’s just a matter of convincing his wife, Juliet that a trip like this with their two young children, is what they desperately need. Michael may be restless, but Juliet suffers from debilitating depression. I’d describe this as suspenseful literary fiction that looks at the complexities of marriage and parenthood. 4 stars


the shoemaker's pic

The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana TrigianiItalian family saga of immigration, near-misses in love and brushes with greatness during the turn of the century. I enjoyed reading about Italy at the turn of the century and life in the Italian Alps. An entertaining read and a great way to escape to another time and place. 3.5 stars


The Silent Wife by A. S. A. Harrison Suspenseful story about what’s beneath the surface of a seemingly happy marriage. Jodi Brett and Todd Gilbert have a smooth way of being together and it’s worked for twenty-some years. Then we get to know them a little better. When the balance is upset, we see how far a person will go to make things right. 4 stars


the time travelers pic

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – unusual love story between a wife and a husband who lives in different times, made into a popular movie – 2 stars (this is just my opinion – I know a lot of people who liked this book!) We read this for my book club a long time ago. Some of us liked it. I’ve never seen the movie. Maybe I’d like it better if I did. What do you think of this book?


That’s just the tip of the iceberg! This list keeps growing! Here are more that have caught my eye:

His Lost Wife by A. J. Wills

The House of Lost Wives by Rebecca Hardy

The Italian Wife by Kate Furnivall

The Jeweler’s Wife by Madeline Connelly

The Lost Wife by Georgina Lees

The Lost Wife by Susanna Moore

The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman

Mr. Emerson’s Wife by Amy Belding Brown

The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve

The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay

The Traitor’s Wife by Allison Pataki

The Twilight Wife by A.J. Banner

The Wife by Alafair Burke

The Wife by Meg Wolitzer

The Winemaker’s Wife by Kristin Harmel

The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

The Wrong Wife by Maya Alden

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman


What do you think about all these “wife” books?  Can you add to my lists? Leave a title in the comments and I’ll update the list.

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

43 thoughts on “Books with “wife” in the title – this list keeps growing!

    1. Hi Donna – I liked The Paris Wife a lot too! We read The Time Traveler’s Wife for my book club and, while I didn’t care much for it, we had a great discussion! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

  1. The two I’ve read and loved where The Paris Wife and The Time Traveller’s Wife. The Time Traveller’s Wife is one of my all time favourite books! I just couldn’t put it down. But I love the concept of time travel and this one was unique. The movie was Ok but not great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Darlene – so many people loved The Time Traveler’s Wife – I know I’m in the minority. Glad you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for the visit and comment – hope you are having a good fall 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are a slew of books with the word “Wife” in the title. The one I identify with most is The Time Traveler’s Wife. Audrey Niffenegger was one of my son’s professors when he was a student at Columbia College, Chicago. He gave me an autographed copy, which I have to this day. I don’t particularly like time-travel books, but I read this one and also saw the movie.

    By the way, I like short reviews. My reviews were long when I first began seriously reviewing books. Now I believe I don’t have to write a treatise to let other readers know my evaluation. My opinion, of course.

    I believe you’d find several books with “daughter” in the title, a variation on your theme here.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Marian – I’m not really into time travel books either, although I know lots of people who are. So many people loved the Outlander series, but I haven’t read it. Glad you like short reviews – these were definitely short ones!

      I did another post about “girl” books, but I haven’t looked into “daughter” ones – the only one I can think of off the top of my head is The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan. Thanks for the visit, Marian 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve never noticed all the “wife” titles lately. I think the only one I’ve read is The Shoemaker’s Wife. I think we did that for our book group because I remember laughing with the group after someone said the lady on the cover looked like she was putting on deodorant. Ha! Thanks for this great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Seriously, I would never have imagined there could be so many books with wife in the title. And what is it with a few of the wives becoming lost?! Barb, well done for collating all these! The only one here that I’ve read is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I didn’t enjoy the book very much although the film was better, I felt. Looking at my Goodreads I see I have read some other books with wife in the title over the past years: The Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry, The Photographer’s Wife by Nick Alexander, The Paris Wife by Paula McLain and The Diplomat’s Wife by Michael Ridpath – the latter I enjoyed a lot! I am intrigued by The Aviator’s Wife and will add to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Annika – thanks for stopping by – I will definitely add these to my list. I guess we agree about The Time Traveler’s Wife – I thought it was kind of a weird story. But I’ve heard the movie is good, as you say. Hope you are doing well 🧡

      Liked by 1 person

  5. One of my friends told me about a book she enjoyed called The Wife Between Us. I just looked it up on Amazon. It sounds suspenseful and has over 60,000 ratings, so it’s obviously well known.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. wow, that’s a lot. I have only read one of these, and I won’t mention which one, as I actually DNFed it!
    I was curious and checked, I have read two: The Wife is actually book #2 in Kristin Lavransdatter, and I have read a fascinating historical novel on Luther’s Wife:
    Katharina Luther: Nun, Rebel, Wife.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve read a few from your list, but I can’t think of any book titles with ‘husband’ in them. Not sure I’d be as interested in reading a book about a ‘husband’ anyway, wives are so much more interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You found a lot of “wife” titles. My husband loved The Time Traveler’s Wife. He really got into the time stuff, and I was hankering for a regular point-A/point-B story. Maybe that’s why some people liked the book a lot more than other people.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.