Who’s That Blogger? Norah Colvin

whos-that-blogger
Blogmaster
:  Norah Colvin

Blog names:  Norah Colvin and readilearn

  

Type of blog:  NorahColvin: education focus; readilearn: early childhood education teaching ideas and resources

Where in the world?  Australia

Blogging since when?  Norah Colvin August 2013; readilearn August 2016

What’s your story?  When I started thinking about self-publishing stories and teaching resources, I did a lot of online research and attended many writing seminars. The collective intelligence promoted blogging as the primary avenue for writers to make connections and establish audience, and insisted on the importance of doing so prior to publication. Social media was also important, but secondary to blogging. At that time, I didn’t know much about social media and had no idea about blogging. Some of the course presenters suggested bloggers to follow, so I quickly got started and developed an understanding of what blogging was about. I was then keen to get my own blog started, and haven’t looked back. While I began with a particular purpose in mind, and that purpose is definitely still there, what keeps me going is the feeling of community, of connection with others, that I have established through my blogging with my blogging friends.

What types of blogs do you follow? My choice of blogs to follow is quite eclectic, but reflective of my interest in education. Education is rather a broad topic after all. I read blogs with any connection to education including early childhood education, children’s literature, psychology, neuroscience, general science, writing, and literature. It is impossible to list all the types of blogs I read. But the ones I follow are those that engage in discourse, who are interested in developing a relationship and being part of an online community. I am very fortunate that I have met many wonderful bloggers who fit this description. A few years ago I coined a phrase to describe us: S.M.A.G. Society of Mutual Admiration and Gratitude. Anyone can join. You just need to be supportive, kind and encouraging.

Early bird or night owl? I’d love to be a night owl and an early bird, but my candle doesn’t stand straight if I now try to burn it at both ends. I am fortunate that I no longer need to work full time for another employer so, although it doesn’t actually feel like it with the schedule I create for myself, I have the luxury of a little more time to devote to my writing. I have maintained a schedule of posting twice a week since I began blogging in 2013. Since the launch of readilearn last year, one of those posts is now published on the readilearn blog, and reposted on NorahColvin.com. I prioritise writing the blog posts and creating the teaching resources which are explained in the readilearn post, so this generally comes first in the morning – but not too early; usually after breakfast and housework if I can’t think of a good excuse to delay the housework for one more day (week or month).

Coffee or tea? Peppermint tea for morning tea, coffee after dinner.

Most recent binge watch: My grandchildren playing! 😊


Check out these recent posts on Norah Colvin and readilearn:

Easter holiday wishes – Readilearn
But why?
Can you guess:  Who am I?


Hey bloggers!  Are you interested in expanding your blogging world?  Email bvitelli2009@gmail.com to be featured on Who’s That Blogger!

Thanks for visiting – come back soon!

 

18 thoughts on “Who’s That Blogger? Norah Colvin

  1. Lovely post on a very talented lady with an engaging website! I enjoyed learning more about you, Norah. You follow so many diverse blogs that sound interesting. Loved your binge watching answer.

  2. Hello! Nice to see you here, Norah. Lovely interview and intro to both your blogs. I enjoy both of them. Hee… Your binge-watching is adorable. I’m with you on the mint tea but how do you sleep if you drink coffee after dinner? Ack! And no burning the candle at both ends. We’ve discussed that. Glad to hear that’s a thing of the past. 😉

    1. Hi Sarah, Thank you for introducing me to Barbara. She is a very special lady. It’s lovely to be here together with you on her blog. Sadly coffee doesn’t seem to affect me. I wish it would keep me awake at times. I’d be able to get much more done!

Tell me what you're thinking!

